slc500 basic questions

flybyguy

im just learning about the slc500 plc

i have a few questions if any one could help me with would be great thanks:p

how many analog inputs can the slc500 control

why cant a program be downloaded to a plc when it is in run mode

what is the purpose of a watchdog timer in a plc

what is the largest positive and negative floating number point number that can be specified in a slc500 plc

why can a program be executed when the program is on remote program mode

what is the maximum amount of up and down counters the slc500 can have?

Last edited:
flybyguy,

This sounds suspiciously like a homework assignment. If not, can you please let us know why you need these specific answers.

Thanks

Welcome to the Forum ! As you will see, homework questions that are simply posted without showing some effort are usually roundly mocked.

Your questions are vague enough that they might not be from a PLC class. I'm curious to find out.

1. How many analog inputs can the slc500 control ?

Trick question ! A PLC controls its outputs, not its inputs. Refer to the syllogism in Bernie Carlton's signature.

The Input data table of an SLC-500 is 256 16-bit words long, so in theory you could connect a large collection of analog input modules. If I were answering this on a test, I would say "the number of analog input channels is limited only by controller memory".

2. Why can't a program be downloaded to a PLC when it is in run mode ?

That's just the way they work. PLC's typically have pre-allocated memory and resources, without enough to load a second program in parallel with the first. Most PLCs can have smaller program edits done while in run mode, but not whole downloads.

3. What is the purpose of a watchdog timer in a PLC ?