losing communications

MAC P.

i am having issues keeping communications set up with my plc. so my slc 5/05, c-more touchscreen, and computer were all communicating properly when i left yesterday, but this morning the hmi and the plc will not communicate at all. this is not the first time it has done this. the processor cannot be found by rs linx nor the computer. i tried to ping the ip address but nothing comes back. the computer will recognize the hmi but rs linx dosent, i keep getting a yellow question mark saying its unrecognized. i am connected via ethernet and using a ethernet switch to chain the components. its beginning to be a pain in the rear having to reestablish communications every time and i am getting ready to send this out and they will be powering the system down at night. is there a way to keep the communications active forever? and if so how???

thanks in advance

Last edited:
hi bernie,
sorry im still new to this. so, i set the processor ip address using "bootp turbo" and so far the processor has kept the ip address i gave it.

Ken Roach posted here that the (BOOTP) ip address will persist until power-down.
Is this your situation?
Does it work until power-down?

when i "fix" my communications, i usually just recreate the communications driver in rslinx, but when i shut down for the night and reboot in the mornings i have to do it all over again. i dont know of an easier way to keep the 2 communicating.

In your 5/05 project make sure that the Ethernet is set up offline. See the picture with example IP. of course you will use your own data. Not that 'BOOTP ENABLE' is unchecked.

505 Comm.jpg

ok guys i powered down for a while then came back on and it (the hmi and plc) is still communicating thus far. when i open rs linx tho, the c-more hmi is still unrecognized. is that just normal? or does the hmi communications not even to be in rs linx?