Tips for newbie to industry?

nyanpasu

I am currently a second year student (out of 3) in a technical college program called "industrial electronics". The curriculum includes what you'd expect : programming PLCs, power, electricity and electronics, instrumentation and controls, math, physics, CAD, etc.

I am also employed in a coop fashion by a local systems integrator. I work about 25-30 hours during my studies, and 40-60 during breaks. On weekends, I provide support for a client (two day shifts) with the help of my boss (basically, I give a problem a shot, and if I am completely stumped, I can call my boss at any time during my shift for help. This way I am introduced to a whole slew of issues and tasks and I am developing my autonomy). The client, of course, knows about the details of this arrangement.

I have been doing this support for around a month, and while my autonomy has improved, I feel like I'm learning only through prior exposure; I can now do common tasks (change a valve and teach it, fix the random PLC/HMI comms problem, etc) but when I am exposed to situations I haven't seen before, I never know where to start. For instance, today, one process was stuck in a loop. I found the cause (temperature transmitter was reporting a value a few degrees below what it needed to clear the step), but because similar problems in the past had been caused by faulty valves (or closed valves that shouldn't be closed), I looked in the direction of the steam valves, up until an operator showed up and gave a knock on the transmitter itself (apparently this operator had had this problem before), which made it transmit the actual (correct) value (and obviously this means I am changing the probe and transmitter tomorrow, when the process is free). Given that there were other TTs farther down the line who showed the right temperature, in retrospect, maybe I should have clued in, but I was too attached to my prior experiences to do so.