Scope of the commercial building automation field

Dear All,

I am a recent graduate from one of the US universities. I have a job offer from one of the companies that is involved in commercial buildig automation. Before, making the final decision about accepting the job offer, I would like to discuss scope of the commercial building automation field. Any guidance in this regard is highly appreciated.

Thank you very much.

With Regards,

Amit Darwhekar

I think most of us here are in the industrial automation field. Could you explain exactly what is commercial automation. I imagine it is to use plc's to control building temperatures, boilers, water as well as display everything on an HMI.

Lucky for you if they use the plc to control the building elevators, you are in the right place. Just be careful in how you ask for help in using elevator logic.

Dear Mr. Mark,

First of all, thank you very much for the prompt response. Your interpretation of the commercial building automation is perfect. They use PLCs to control building HVAC equipments.Most of the times PLCs are connected in a network to control HVAC equipments of large buildings.

With Regards,

Amit

Last edited:
Over here in Europe commercial building automation is mostly not done bij PLCs, but by home and building control systems such as KNX. HVAC equipment is usually controlled by dedicated controllers or by home and building control systems, although some (mostly larger) systems use PLCs.

The main difference between these
home and building control systems and PLCs is that the former mostly have distributed intelligence while the latter have centralised intelligence. The advantage of distributed intelligence is that if a processor fails, the system isn't out of control, which is more desireable in home and building automation.

Kind regards,

Over here most of the buildings controled by dedicted controllers.

Not because PLCs canot do it, because it cheaper and not need highly skiled engineers.