Beckhoff Twincat Connecting to Cognex In-Sight

DT1

Hello there,

I am having a project for image processing using Cognex camera system and i want to trigger it with plc, the plc I use is Beckhoff Twincat 3 2013 and the camera is the 7000 series. is there any recomendation to connect between the PLC to the camera to trigger it?

I have tried to connect it using OPC but it failed. I tried to use the function block inside the twincat plc but I don't know how to use the function block. I tried to use ADS connection but I was so confused with it, I want to try to trigger it using digital connection but I don't know if it's possible or not. I have little knowledge in ethernet connection so if anyone could help me solve this problem that would be great.

Cognex cameras support a number of standard communication protocols: ModbusTCP, Ethernet/IP, Profinet, as well as a native communications. We have had good results utilizing Profinet connection: it was relatively easy to set up, provided all the necessary functionality and worked reliably. You will need a Profinet master in your TwinCAT system for that, like EL6631.

Cognex cameras support a number of standard communication protocols: ModbusTCP, Ethernet/IP, Profinet, as well as a native communications. We have had good results utilizing Profinet connection: it was relatively easy to set up, provided all the necessary functionality and worked reliably. You will need a Profinet master in your TwinCAT system for that, like EL6631.

is there any other solution without adding another hardware to connect between this two?

I'm not familiar with the Cognex product, but if if supports Modbus TCP as LadderLogic mentioned, the Beckhoff can do this without additional hardware. You need to install the TwinCAT Modbus TCP function (TS6250 I think) and it uses the built-in LAN port (not EtherCAT). There is a cost for the extra license.

There is a cost for the extra license.