Embedded Web Servers

Bitmaster

I'm a 4th year student (one year till graduation) and I started looking around for some interesting graduation / final projects. One idea that came to mind involves remote browser-based monitoring and control of an industrial automation process (over the Internet).

So I did a search on Google for 'embedded web server' and came up with thousands of links showing just as many products that fall into this category. Kinda hard to choose from :rolleyes:

I want to ask for your help in choosing one of those beasts. If any of you has any experience with things such as embedded web servers and remote monitoring / control using web browsers, could you please give me some details, like device manufacturer, good points / weak points, pricing information, development tools and so on.

Thanks in advance !

Contact AutomatinDirect.com. They have (or at least had) a web page link to a sample system that would let you monitor a system real time over the web.

PLC Web Server

Check the Modicon web site. They have a Web server card for there Quantum serie PLC. Its FANTASTIC!

Embedded Web Server

If you're talking about an embedded web server for a PLC, that's bitter subject. Groupe Schnieder (aka Modicon) holds a patent that they claim gives them the exclusive right to interface a PLC with the web (or, a right to force companies to pay through the nose for the licence to do so).

You may want to look at Spectrum Control's WebPort (http://www.spectrumcontrols.com/webport.htm), which has been developed, but cannot be released due to this.

This might be why Tom wasn't sure about AutomationDirect's product. There was some discussion of this on Controls.com - check through their archives (try searching on "Patent")

Thousands of hits, huh? Groupe Schneider's laywers must be busy.

Bitmaster,