Siemens OP5 and S5 how to... Software missing? Thx.

Luke21

Hi,

I am new to the PLCs, I am more used to PCs and Micro controllers, but I got an S5-100U CPU103 with an OP5 panel that I have to get working. I have 3 disks from siemens with COROS COM TEXT on them, that i installed and got running. I communicated with the OP5 and got de default software transferred and running.

Now comes the part where I am missing something. The S5, back in 1994 was used for some experiment, I was hopping the old program was still in the EEPROM, but when I got the OP5 and the S5 plugged together I got the message : $613(Data block does not exist or is too short)=> I have to create a DB of requisite length in the PLC. I thought that maybe the comm. protocol in which the S5 was originally programmed is different from the one I choose on the OP5 so I tried them all with no luck. I guess I am stuck in rewriting the program. The problem is that I don t know what to use to do so. When I run Comtext (by s5.com) I get 2 options : 1- Comtext V3.10 2- Convert V2.1. I have no clue what software to use to communicate with the PLC, I only have the original manual for step5 but I guess that the disks were lost.

-Is there any other program I could use?
-Will ProTool solve my problem, I already know that It wont work for the OP5 since my panel is firmware v1.02, can I upgrade it, there is no reference on Siemens page?
-From what I read I also need an RS232/TTY converter to get it to work, Is there a way to get the program through the OP5 to the PLC?
- I also have some Graph III manuals, but still don t have the software, can someone clarify what is the simple way of getting this to work, step5, Graph 5/II, Comtext or ProTool?

Any feedback is welcome. If you can e-mail me the software that I miss (step5), if any.

Thank you
Lukasz A.

Last edited:
Dear Lukasz,

The error $613 indicates that the OP is trying to communicate with your plc, but he's not finding the correct DB.