You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:24 PM   #1
PLCplease
Member
United States

PLCplease is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
Question I have to head to a customer tomorrow and upload from MicroLogix 1000

What am I going to get? A program with rungs and instructions and absolutely no descriptions and comments?

There is no offline version of the program available. We are upgrading them to Compact Logix, I was just hoping I had a program to work with to reconstruct the logic.

I've never worked with anything prior to Micro 1400.

Any tips? Thanks for any insight.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:26 PM   #2
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 932
Correct. Without a digital copy of the program, you won't get the comments.

You might be in luck and find a printed copy somewhere on site.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:34 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,702
On the bright side, the ML1000 only has 1K of memory, no floating point, no expansion I/O and many other limitations, so the amount of documentation you have to rebuild should be minimal. Look for electrical drawings while on site and take a lot of pictures.
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:43 PM   #4
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,354
yeah worst case you trace out the IO, on a micrologix 1000 that should give you a good head start.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:45 PM   #5
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,500
We deal with this a lot when we have to work on purchased equipment where the OEM was not willing to provide a documented program. After uploading the logic, I usually go through and name all the inputs and outputs; this is easy if you have a schematic and just a bit more work if you don't. At that point you can usually make sense of an average sized program as long as the programmer didn't go nuts with his internal memory bits.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:49 PM   #6
PLCplease
Member
United States

PLCplease is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
That's what i was afraid of. Thanks guys
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 05:57 PM   #7
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 932
Note also there may be a password on the program so you might not even get that (easily anyway).
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 06:03 PM   #8
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,125
If you have to reverse engineer it, spend at least a day onsite, online with the PLC, while the machine is running. Start by entering descriptions for all of the I/O, and then start commenting the memory bits based on the I/O comments and what you can observe of the machine operation and code activity. It's a bit like a crossword - it's tricky to start with, but the more pieces you fill in, the more clues you get to help you out with the rest of the unknowns.

I recently had to do this with a very large micrologix 1500 PLC, that had only very minimal (and mostly incorrect/misleading) documentation. Took a while, but like I say, you plod away slowly for a while and eventually hit a tipping point where you've documented enough that the remaining bits are easily worked out.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 07:29 PM   #9
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,539
Its a right-of-passage for plc programming.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 02:50 PM   #10
PLCplease
Member
United States

PLCplease is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
Well, that went waay better than expected.

There were only 9 inputs, all prox's, and only 4 outputs.

The program looks ridiculous, though.

Raggedy old machine.

https://imgur.com/a/7FKxEs0
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 04:06 PM   #11
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,500
The OSHA inspector must have called in sick that day.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 05:25 PM   #12
shawn_75
Member
United States

shawn_75 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 411
I had to look up poka yoke. What throws a poka yoke error in that machine?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 06:43 PM   #13
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn_75 View Post
What throws a poka yoke error in that machine?
I am guessing... but when the lamp blows up and blows off the green cover the lamp, thats an error
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 AM.


.