What’s the best way to learn a new program for a new piece of equipment?

darwil93

So to start with, I’m pretty new to the field.
I work as an E&I tech (one of four techs) at a food manufacturing plant. For the most part, we are moderately automated with a pretty good variety of different controllers and other automation.
I work second shift maintenance and my job is not to do any engineering or programming work but to merely maintain what’s already there. I am okay with that. It suits me perfectly. But there are times where I want to do more than just wait on the machine to break down of course.
I get the urge sometimes to go to different machines—ideally frequent problem machines—and just watch them run while looking at the program. I’d like to think I’m doing some sort of practice. Until this point, I have just been moseying around in the program with no rhyme or reason in order to get familiar with it. Although, with my personality, I don’t like becoming familiar that way. I like to be more systematic and planned.
So my concern is that if I come across a machine that’s new or one whose program I haven’t looked at yet, is there some sort of SOP or standard guideline that I could go by, and use to navigate the program with a better sense of “start to finish” quality. Most of the programs we use seem to be very well structured ladder logic, with the exception of a few. If there is such a system I feel like it would work perfectly for me. I’d like to think I would use it in the form of doing “drills” regularly and just applying it to different machines.
Naturally I understand, this type of question is going to open a can of worms in the way of add-on questions due to the incredible vagueness of it. I’ll be glad to take the heat. Like I said, I’m new. I need all the feedback I can get.

Thanks in advance everyone

In my opinion, you've already started by pretty much answering your own question;