Modicon PLC

Mpoon

Modicon PLC Post #1

Testing, I am new here.
My first question.
Are there any people have Modicon PLC programming experence?
I need some help to understand the I/O structure of the Modicons.
I have good experence on AB product, not Modicons. software is(ProWorxNxT)
Are there any simple book/manual or online material that I can read.

Thank you for your kindly response

Modicon

Hi and welcome,

There are fewer of us Modicon users all the time it seems but we are still here.

If you ask a specific question it will be answered. Probably by someone more knowledgable than me but I'll give you what I can.

I have 10 years experience using Modsoft programming software on 984, Quantum etc.

My workplace has not yet switched to Proworx.

Brian

specific question

My specific question are.....

1: Is the Modicon Processor also have simular data file setup?
2:How is the Rack and slot I/O addres. such as how many slot in a rack. how many I/O in a slot?

I just want to undeerstand the I/O and all internal word/bits
arrangements. In AB products it has data table, I is input file, O is output, then B3 for internal bit,T4 is Timer,C5 is Counter,R6 is Control file,N7 is interger file,

Q3 : Is the Modicon Processor also have simular data file setup?
and how is the Rack and slot I/O address

Thanks again

I'm sorry that I saw the PM before I saw your reply here.
I hope I answered some basics. to recap.

1 ?

2. Depends on the product line, typically 5, 7, or 9 slots/rack
Depends on the I/O card, 4, 8, 16, 32 inputs/outputs

3. Addressing is established in the I/O mapping or Traffic Cop

0xxxx discrete outputs and internal coils
1xxxx discrete inputs
3xxxx analog inputs
4xxxx analog registers

More detailed questions equal more detailed answers.

check out the www.shneider-electric.com

Brian.