Silo fill measurements with strain gauges.

JesperMP

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hi all.

I have a project with individual silos (100 t capacity each), and am thinking about using strain gauges for the fill level measurement.

1. It does not have to be super accurate. +/- 5% is plenty good. The silos stand with their own individual legs. Should I measure on one leg, several legs, or all legs ?

2. Should I use a single strain gauge foil on each leg, or should I on each leg arrange 4 foils in a bridge arrangement ?
2a. I can only find strain gauge foils with a single strain gauge. Does there exist foils with 4 strain gauges pre-configured in a bridge connection ?
(I have a lot of experience with load cells, where you always use bridge connections, but I have no experience with strain gauges).

3. I can find strain gauges of steel or aluminium. Why would I chose one over the other ?

4. Any good suppliers in the EU ?

5. Any other useful tips or links to good sites about strain gauges ?

Thanks in advance.

edit:

6. What about the physical wire connections on the strain gauges ? What do people do ?
I am thinking about cutting the bottom of a regular terminal box and place it over the strain gauge(s), and also place a DIN rail for the further connection or even place the converter directly in the box.

Last edited:
I have found strain gauges are better at measuring stretch than compression. Why do you not want to just use load cells?

True a strain gauge is supposed to be "bolt on" but bear in mind that its accuracy is very hard to predict. Unlike a load cell your actual deflection is going to be unknown until you attach the sensor to the beam. You will have to experiment a good bit to find a good location on your frame to place the strain gauges. Make sure there are no frame cross supports going around your strain gauge as this will really throw your readings.