Ignition Software - questions

tremes

I'm new to this process. I've been tasked with researching, planning and ultimately implementing an MES solution.
We are a manufacturer in the automotive industry. We have about 100 stations.

- How long does it take to fully implement Ignition? The FAQ says it's "ridiculously easy to install". I can't find information about roll out time and resources required to successfully launch.

- What are some limitations?

- Has anyone attempted and ultimately abandoned Ignition, if so, why?

- Are their other questions I should be asking?

- Does anyone know of any comparison type charts/reviews for MES solutions?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the Forum !

Much depends on how you define "fully implemented", right ? While getting "up and running" with the servers and the first few tags is easy, an automotive MES system is a multi-month project.

I do agree that Ignition is much faster and easier to install and deploy than any other HMI software I have used. Starting from a Linux virtual machine to getting my first HMI tags updating was less than an hour the first time I tried it. I've heard people cite similar under-an-hour installation times for their first attempts at Ignition on Windows computers.

Compared to the two solid weeks I'd spent updating and patching FactoryTalk View 4.0 on some Windows 2003 Servers previously, it almost made me cry.

The limitations I ran into with Java are also the reason I abandoned Ignition in my company.

This is very specific to our company and its history; we rely on Python and its NumPy and SciPy libraries extensively. I like to say we have a "mathematician in captivity", whom we keep in a nice dark quiet air-conditioned room padded with Python reference books.