To all of you who write applicable comments:

Wish I could say "Your Welcome" but the reason why I comment the hell out of my programs is mostly for ME to remember why I did it that way. While I want my programs to be readable and usable for any tech to come in after me, I do it for pure selfish reasons.

I work on a lot of systems and every one is a little different that the last. Since the programs dont change much and I normally have learn a lot since I was last in the program, I need to know what I was thinking when I wrote it. :)

Me, training our new recruit on PLC's:

"Okay. First question for you: how much trouble do you think you will get into if I find you writing code without comments?"

New recruit, who turns out to be pretty bright:

"...well, I'm new to this, but I'm going to guess: a lot?"

Me:

"right on. As long as you comment every rung of code you write, you and I will get along just fine."

New recruit is a keeper.

I go along with Bullzi.

Every time I do something, or think of something for the future, and don't write it down thinking it is so obvious I will remember it later, I end up remembering there was something I wanted to remember, but never remember what it was.

Comment every line and change to any line

Describe every bit, counter, timer, integer, real number and all I/O - and not just an abbreviated symbol name

my boss and others told me to stop commenting my program rungs.
well, I wrote a 2400 line program for a 10 station machine and everyone loved it.
5 years later, I can barely understand it. Never again.

comment, comment, comment

james

I would just add that properly named variables go an awful long way in understanding code... not the overall sequence or process, but the nitty gritty of the implementation.

"right on. As long as you comment every rung of code you write, you and I will get along just fine."