You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 10th, 2021, 02:27 PM   #1
Cydog
Member
United States

Cydog is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 289
Powerflex 525 ADC Selections- Exact Match , Compatible Module , or Disabled ?

Good Afternoon ,

I have a question concerning the ADC option for Studio 5000 and Powerflex 525 drives . I have it set for all 17 drives in the system.

We had a 3 Horsepower Powerflex 525 go bad the other day, and maintenance tried to replace it with a 5 hp PF 525. There is an unmanaged
switch being used , so I texted them , without knowing they were replacing it with a 5 Hp , that they just needed to enter the IP Address and Subnet . It did not work .

When I set up the ADC for all the drives , I selected Compatible when I set the project up.

My question is , what if I select "Disabled Keying" , will any Powerflex 525 , within reason, work with ADC , and download parameters , and reestablish Ethernet connection ? Even if the horsepower is different ?

Thanks so much ,
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2021, 10:09 AM   #2
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 951
I don't believe that will work. The keying relates to firmware revision. Since the actual part number changes when the HP changes, you need to update the tree in logix to the correct HP size.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2021, 11:45 AM   #3
Jim3846
Member
United States

Jim3846 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 338
Use the match drive feature.
Just make sure you know what parameters are different from default, since your replacing the drive.
Also, the firmware level usually changes with new drives. You would need to upload either from the drive to get the latest or go on web to get that update.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2021, 08:08 PM   #4
Cydog
Member
United States

Cydog is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 289
Thanks ,

Have you all used Firmware Supervisor . I read up on that a little today .
It sounds like it works injunction wth the SD Card .I was struggling understanding how the firmware of the PowerFlex 525 drives make their way to the SD card . Sounds like when it notices when the drive is changed , and notices that the firmware is different it changes the firmware on the new drive .
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 12:33 AM   #5
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cydog View Post
Thanks ,

Have you all used “ Firmware Supervisor “ . I read up on that a little today .
It sounds like it works injunction wth the SD Card .I was struggling understanding how the firmware of the PowerFlex 525 drives make their way to the SD card . Sounds like when it notices when the drive is changed , and notices that the firmware is different it changes the firmware on the new drive .
I've set it up before, but never actually seen it "work" - as in, I've never had to actually change a drive and let the firmware supervisor do its thing. But in general you're right - if the PLC establishes a connection to a VSD at a configured IP address, and the firmware of that VSD doesn't match the firmware configured in the project, it will flash the drive firmware to the required version. In the same way, if you also have ADC configured, if the PLC establishes a connection to a VSD at a configured IP address, and the parameters in that VSD don't match the parameters configured in the project, the PLC will write all the parameters to the drive according to the project.

You're right in that the firmware files have to be transferred onto the SD card. First you need to have the relevant firmware files registered on your PC, then you use Logix Designer to transfer them onto the SD card. Go to controller properties>non-volatile memory and follow the prompts - it's reasonably intuitive. The PLC has to be in program mode to transfer the files to the SD card.

Obviously all this is moot if your drive sizes don't match - I don't think there's any way around that situation without manual intervention.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 525 Control Module jayare12 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 23rd, 2015 12:41 PM
RSLogix 5000 and Powerflex 525. Elcan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 28th, 2014 12:38 PM
Powerflex 525 Multidrive issues Teglaco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 14th, 2014 01:57 PM
Analog Input underscale brucechase LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 3rd, 2007 01:13 PM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


.