You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 18th, 2018, 10:50 AM   #1
Plastic
Member
United States

Plastic is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 253
Single Ethernet switch - Dirty & High Ambient Temperature

We are planning a new installation.

Large industrial building. PLC will be in one end climate controlled room.
Some distributed Ethernet/IP I/O far end of building about 400 feet away.

We are contemplating Ethernet over fiber.....
..but a few team members would endorse a simple copper Ethernet switch in the middle.

The reason to not do fiber, as fiber termination is only done by a smaller number of trained persons. Copper Ethernet is readily service and deployed by a large number of persons.

To entertain a single switch in the middle, we would need a small enclosure to house the switch, and provide climate control in the enclosure.

The plant ambient temperature in the summer can be 120 degrees F. It is also a dirty, sooty environment.

What suggestions might you propose that has been successful?

Thank You

Plastic
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 11:08 AM   #2
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 398
If you do end up using the copper switch, you can get extended temperature ranges. For example, Moxa makes -40C to +75C variants. I'm sure other industrial vendors will do similar.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 11:33 AM   #3
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 187
+1 on the extended temperature range switches

The Cisco IE2000 and IE4000 are -40C to 70C ambient, if memory serves.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 12:11 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,991
I use N-Tron switches when I know the temperatures will be high. Even their little 100-series are rated for -40 to 80 C (176 F). They are tough enough to be rated for traffic control and railway control applications.

The 104-MDR would work in this application (the "MDR" is a metal DIN rail mount base; super stout). They also have a 105M12 with IP67 connectors if you don't want to put it into its own enclosure.

Last edited by Ken Roach; July 18th, 2018 at 12:16 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 12:25 PM   #5
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,401
I'd suggest climate controlled panels for the equipment in the hot, dirty area.

I think that the fear of using fiber optics is irrational, but the fiber signals would have to be converted to electrical signals anyway, so I also don't see how you'd gain anything from using fiber. Soot can cause problems with uncoated electronics. I've been bitten by that in the past.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 12:54 PM   #6
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,838
I'd look at IP65 rated switches, to avoid the hassle of a random small panel. Something like this should be pretty resilient to dust, while also being rated to temps up to 70C.

https://mall.industry.siemens.com/ma...ducts/10314784

That said, fiber can be a good solution as well. If you put the right fiber in, it future proofs you for so many different situations.

Either way, I'd definitely recommend managed switches over unmanaged. You want to be sure you can find out what is wrong if/when something breaks.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 02:02 PM   #7
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,554
+1 for N-tron.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Well Do You Really Know Thermocouples Archie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 October 14th, 2016 10:21 AM
Ethrnet IP, Ethernet TCP/ip, Modbus TCP/ip Steve_D LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 23rd, 2016 07:36 PM
Multiple Channel Ethernet Temperature Controller boiler-todd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 14th, 2005 05:10 PM
PLC'S DC OUPUT and its application for ambient temperature digital display jebrietszkie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 29th, 2003 05:59 PM
PLC'S DC OUPUT and its application for ambient temperature digital display AND DIGITA jebrietszkie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 29th, 2003 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


.