FactoryTalk View SE View Client

smohamed

Morning,

I was looking to see if anyone had any experience using FactoryTalk View SE View Client. We've used FactoryTalk View SE in a client/server architecture previously, but our client is looking for a read-only version of the SCADA instead of a secured username/password setup.

I see that Rockwell does have a View Client software package, but could not find any details as to how it works, etc. How are alarms handled, all that kind of stuff. If anyone has used it previously, some input or literature would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I have used SE Distributed a lot. I have never used a "read only" client before. I am like you, I know it exists but have never deployed one.

I would be curious how it differentiates between navigation and other commands since they are all in a "run command" type object. For instance what if your navigation calls a macro, will it execute the macro in order to change screens?

I have a sneaky suspicion it may be tricky to work with.

Hopefully someone can provide some experience.

I would assume a manual for the product exists? have you looked?

RSL

TN 35377 - List of commands and functionality that cannot be executed from an RSView SE View-only client

Hi guys,

New member to the forum here, and very little experience with FactoryTalk View (FTView). Sorry for resurrecting an old post but my question is near identical but with some twists. First some background:

I am working at a site where we have a DCS for controlling the general facility, but with a lot of 3rd party vendor packages built using AllenBradley ControlLogix controllers and FTView ME HMI's (mix between field PC's and PanelView Plus). FactoryTalk Gateway (RSLinx Enterprise) is used as an OPC interface to integrate the data back to the DCS screens. However, we are currently exploring options to make the FTView HMI available in the control room and possibly remotely.