You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 20th, 2005, 10:31 AM   #16
pstephens
Member
United States

pstephens is offline
 
pstephens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 342
Looks nice, Jim.

I thought you said you were going to do the wiring last night, not the plumbing... ??

Keep it up!

Paula
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 12:01 PM   #17
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Well, Paula, I guess I don't have an excuse !! I went ahead and made the 'stand' as it will make it just a little easier to wire up, with the panel being supported.

Understand, that since I work for a major water treatment corporation, I have an abundance of PVC plumbing parts, so I just used what I had to make the stand. It's very sturdy, non-conductive, and best of all, FREE !!!

Terminal block mounting tonite, and wiring will be at least STARTED !!

Thanks..

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 01:03 PM   #18
elevmike
Member
United States

elevmike is offline
 
elevmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 4,012
Just a suggestion...

If you have high speed/counter inputs on the little AB, you might want to install a quad encoder with a little crank wheel.
__________________
If you think you can do a thing or think you can't do a thing, you're probably right.... Henry Ford
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 01:27 PM   #19
scooby blue
Member
United States

scooby blue is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 35
Where is the federal horn?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 03:28 PM   #20
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Scooby...... ????????????????????
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 04:53 PM   #21
scooby blue
Member
United States

scooby blue is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 35
Smile

You know one of those ear piercing horns mounted right there on the stand. That would wake some people up.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 05:14 PM   #22
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Don't think I haven't thought of that !! Problem is, I'm probably going to be the only one using this thing, and I HATE IT when my sleep time is interrupted !!! hehehe..

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 07:54 PM   #23
Thomas Sullens
Member
United States

Thomas Sullens is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Idabel, Ok
Posts: 390
Thumbs up good job

Great looking trainer beerchug
Something you might want to do is put some N.O. little PBs under your toggle switches. Just put them in parallel with the toggle switches. Then you can have the best of both worlds. You`ll see the benefits of this when you start tring to simulate your program and watch it work.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 08:22 PM   #24
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Great idea, Tom. Never thought about putting more switches in parallel. And I just happen to have a drawer full of PBs. !!

Thanks...

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 08:41 PM   #25
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
Quote:
Originally posted by jdmartin8
Great idea, Tom. Never thought about putting more switches in parallel. And I just happen to have a drawer full of PBs. !!
Not even finished with the wiring and it looks like you're already gonna need a bigger piece of plexiglass...

beerchug

-Eric
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 08:51 PM   #26
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally posted by Eric Nelson


Not even finished with the wiring and it looks like you're already gonna need a bigger piece of plexiglass...

beerchug

-Eric
Naw......... Plenty of room on the plexi, plenty of switches, plenty of wire, fresh out of energy !!!!!!!!!!

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 08:59 PM   #27
CaseyK
Member
United States

CaseyK is offline
 
CaseyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the cornfields, on the prarie, outside Chi-Town, a few miles beyond the boondocks.
Posts: 1,731
Lightbulb Federal Horn

Nothing like a nice loud alarm horn.

Should be controlled by a momentary push buton that has a latching circuit in the PLC. Button should be marked "Do Not Push". Works even better when PLC runs of a battery, so the alarm doesn't shut off when you pull out the line cord.

By the time you are done, there will probably be 2 or 3 pieces of plexi glass as "annexes", and 2 or 3 more plc's networked together.

PLEASE do NOT do a traffic light, railroad signals are more fun anyway!

regards.....casey
__________________
73 de casey nine eye aitch
  Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 09:08 PM   #28
Bitmore
Member
United States

Bitmore is offline
 
Bitmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Automation Alley, Oakland County, Michigan
Posts: 477
Good thing there is an E-Stop button!
Just in case you get carried away!

Nice looking trainer...
__________________
"A good scientist is a person with original ideas. A good engineer is a person who makes a design that works with as few original ideas as possible. There are no prima donnas in engineering." Freeman Dyson
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2005, 04:31 AM   #29
ayman metwally
Lifetime Supporting Member
Egypt

ayman metwally is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cairo
Posts: 258
looks nice

It will be a good idea to install a small Circiut breaker as the main feeder for all the compnents of your panel, Two benfits achived from this:
1- protection.
2- a manual switch for conneting/disconnecting the power.
__________________
Ayman Metwally

Last edited by ayman metwally; January 21st, 2005 at 04:37 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2005, 06:35 AM   #30
jdmartin8
Member
United States

jdmartin8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 52
Ayman,

I have already installed a fuse for the 120VAC, and another for the 24VDC. The E-Stop is wired to remove all 120VAC when activated. I know that this is not the 'field' way to wire the E-Stop, but I believe it will suffice for a trainer.

thanks...

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 07:24 AM
Buiding a PLC Trainer Using Allen Bradley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 17th, 2004 03:13 PM
Lost idea build a PLC trainer Deer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 24th, 2004 03:13 PM
BUILD YOUR OWN PLC TRAINER Vetteboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 31st, 2003 11:58 AM
Real World Problem Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 23rd, 2002 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


.