Learning Siemens plc language

James Mcquade

Hi everyone,

I am mainly an AB programmer, some work with Omron and Mitshbishi.
Most jobs i am looking at require Siemens experience. How different is that from the AB type of programming and is there a lite version that i can download and work with to learn the software?
thanks in advance,
James

James,
I find AB guys often struggle with Siemens at first, but eventually grasp it. When you say Siemens, I assume you are looking at TIA portal, not Classic Step-7.
Siemens has trial versions that will run for 21 days.

Here is a link to the latest (V16) version of TIA, older versions are also available. You will have to create an account to download, but no charge.

https://support.industry.siemens.co...y-and-wincc-v16-trial-download?dti=0&lc=en-WW

Step 7 is the brand name for PLC programming software. WinCC is the brand for HMI software. There are many packages that have those keywords as part of the name, you'll probably need to be more specific than you expect with people, at least at first, until you understand what contexts make sense for each.

You can download a 21 day trial from the support site. You will need to register and wait for approval to download, but I've never heard of them denying anyone. TIA Portal V16 is the latest version. You can generally have multiple versions of Portal installed (unless you're doing SCADA class HMIs) and they'll all share the same licenses. You can migrate projects forward (V14->V16) but not backwards. THERE IS NO SAVE AS PREVIOUS VERSION. You'll use this for S71500 & S71200 PLCs as well as Basic and Comfort HMIs. It ALSO supports older PLCs, but almost no one actually does that.

https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/us/en/view/109772803