Hi ,

I have a weigher connected to a PLC via RS 232

It is 2 way communications between the weigher and the plc

I have very little experience in comms

The weigher is a very old Chronos Pc 454 and the plc is a Gem 80
My ultimate aim is to replace the old weigher with a Chronos pc 456

The 456 uses RS 485

I can replace the weigher and use a RS 232 to RS 485 Converter unit

What id like to check first is can I wire the comms cable to the new weigher in one direction , from the plc to the weigher , so I don't risk sending data to the plc
Just incase I cause a problem by sending comms from the new weigher to the plc

I am asking if I can test the new weigher by only connecting the rx side of the incoming plc comms cable to the weigher , just so I can see if the weigher will respond to the incoming comms

As a separate question
To understand comms better , I have bought a null modem cable and want to connect 2 x laptops together using terminal software

I would like to use a terminal program on both laptops and open a terminal window on each laptop and see comms in each direction

Can you recommend software to do this

Would this software allows me to view incoming Rs 232 from the PLC if I connect the laptop to the incoming data cable at the weigher

I am wanting to " view " the comms from the plc to the weigher

Yes to all those queries. I've made temporary connections with paper clips when I didn't have a M-M gender changer. Obviously dealing with the ground may be an issue when connecting send and receive to separate devices

Lots of comms app options, I used to use kermit or hyperterminal, but I expect there are newer apps to do this. Kermit had a scripting language that could be used to execute a dialogue, e.g. use AT commands to dial a modem and connect.

You have the right idea in mind. It's best to test out using PC to simulate either side of the communication.