Testing panels?

Lyndon A

Hi guys:
I've been writing controls software for decades, but I've never used a PLC.

How do control panel shops do their testing? I mean, I understand simple testing like, activate an input and verify relay #1 turns on for 5 seconds, then relay #4 goes on, etc...

But if you're building a panel for someone halfway across the country and you have sensor signals faster than a human can deal with, like "must receive 100 pulses in a second and alarm if that threshold is not met," how do you verify the logic if you don't have access to the production hardware?

This thought came up because I build small Arduino (and microcontroller) based control systems and I have to verify a rotary switch sequence that happens in milliseconds. I normally keep a "test breadboard" around to simulate stuff like this. Would a regular control panel shop have something similar?

I've been hanging out here for a few years, but I've never noticed this aspect of PLC programming mentioned.

Hi guys:
I've been writing controls software for decades, but I've never used a PLC.

How do control panel shops do their testing? I mean, I understand simple testing like, activate an input and verify relay #1 turns on for 5 seconds, then relay #4 goes on, etc...

But if you're building a panel for someone halfway across the country and you have sensor signals faster than a human can deal with, like "must receive 100 pulses in a second and alarm if that threshold is not met," how do you verify the logic if you don't have access to the production hardware?

This thought came up because I build small Arduino (and microcontroller) based control systems and I have to verify a rotary switch sequence that happens in milliseconds. I normally keep a "test breadboard" around to simulate stuff like this. Would a regular control panel shop have something similar?

I've been hanging out here for a few years, but I've never noticed this aspect of PLC programming mentioned.