Advice needed for learning how to properly write plc code for machine control

SilverLoop

i would like some advice from those who write plc code for machine control. i am very new to plc programming and have looked at a lot of code that others have written.

it is difficult to really know if the sample code i have seen even works well because there are few comments and there does not seem to be a "flow" to the programs because of all kinds of latching/unlatching instructions, timers, and one shots.

i was wondering if there is a source where i can look at sample programs that perform relatively few operations for a simple machine and are easy to follow?

i am thinking of something like a machine that has a few conveyor belts and a few proximity switches that could be used to detect parts being conveyed through various "stages" of the machine.

i realize that you learn more and more by just writing code, but i want to start with a good basis for breaking code into manageable parts and would like to follow techniques that others have found to work.

Last edited:
i realize that there is no set way to write a plc program, but surely there are some ways to break code down that are generally accepted as good practices. in the same way, surely there are generally accepted practices to writing code for machine control.

i am familiar with most instructions and can usually figure out how to use others from help files, but i would like to be able to go from a very detailed theory of operation that i wrote for the functionality of a machine to a program that truley does what it was intended.

The most important steps you take in creating good logic are those taken before you start writing the program. They include:

A good point list, with signal levels, ranges for analog I/O, and addresses for each point

A list of alarm functions, including the events that trip an alarm and the actions taken as a result of an alarm, such as alarm horn, stopping the machine, etc.