Wiring? (for PLC system-but not PLC related)

grnmon97

I am attempting to design a machine that will use Qty 8 - PNP 10-24VDC through beam photo sensors as inputs and am trying to ease the wiring to the PLC. Can I use a terminal block to distribute 10-24VDC (+/-) to these sensors? and send a single wire to the PLC common? And perhaps supply power to solenoid valve (type not determined) outputs x8 as well? The sensor transmitter and receiver combination consume 48mA max current and the 24vdc power supply specs say DC output current is 0-12A.

Any help is greatly appreciated...
Bill

I do not see that being a problem. An easier way would depend on what type of PLC you are going to be using. You might be able to use somekind of remote I/O and have a single network cable back to the PLC.

Thanks Moltra. I am new to PLC's. Learning on my own to automate a process at my workplace. Therefore, funds are minimal, and every aspect is a new learning experience. Such as... I don't know what to look for in a terminal block. From what I have read, Terminal blocks sound like glorified wire connectors, but I want to connect 8 wires(Sensor+) to one (Power Supply+). Any suggestions where to shop?

We use alot of Phoenix Contact in our Panel shop. They have all the terminal blocks, shorting combs etc that you need to build any kind of panel. They also have power supplies and relays/signal isolators etc. They have reps everywhere so I would give your local one a call and have him fetch a catalog over. I've found their quality excellent.

AB do this stuff too but its usually alot more expensive.

Greetings grnmon97 ...

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking ... are you planning to hook the OUTPUT wires of all eight sensors together (into ONE wire) - and then connect that ONE wire to just ONE of the inputs on a PLC? ... basic idea: when ANY sensor sees its target, then the ONE PLC input turns ON ... is that what you're doing? ...