Timers in S7 300 plc

Donnchadh

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi All

I am new to the world of siemens S7 (have been mostly Allen Bradley) but I am getting more into the Siemens s7 and I am starting to like it.
I have been used to Allen Bradley, Omron etc. I may have it wrong but is there a small no of timers in a S7 300.
If I use a FC and I have a timer in it do I use one of the S7300
timers evertime I call this.

Sorry if this is a dump question but I am trying to think siemens and not Alllen Bradley.
There will be more dump question to follow!!

Donnchadh K

There are a limited number of instruction type timers available, but there are IEC timers available such as SFB4, these are endless.

They require an instance DB, but if you specify them as STAT's inside FB's then they will become part of the main FB's instance DB.

If they are called from an FC, each one would require their own IDB.

EDIT: If you call a FC several times and it contains a timer, then this will not work for you, each timer can only be used once per scan (usually).

Hi Peter

Thanks for the quick reply.
Is a IDB just like a normal DB.
Am I correct that with FB,s that you must have a DB with it.
Sorry again about the dumb question bit like I said I am
new to S7 and am trying to get my head around it.

Donnchadh

Your original point is very valid - there are a ridiculously small number of 'native' timer/counters in the S7-300 and S7-400 range. I've no idea what Siemens was thinking about there. CPUs with megabytes of memory addressing thousands of I/O and only 256 timers? Oh well ...

An IDB is pretty much like an ordinary DB expect it is associated to an FB. Every FB must have an instance data block. That can either be expressed as a separate IDB for every call of every FB or, as PeterW suggested, by embedding FBs in a larger parent FB and then just having one big instance DB for the parent which also holds all the children's data.

You could for example call -
FB99, DB49
FB99, DB50
FB99, DB51 etc