You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:05 PM   #1
B Fix
Member
United States

B Fix is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 17
Getting Kilowatts For A Fan

All, I am working with a 1336 Plus II drive and have set up the drive on devicenet. I am suppose to get the Kilowatts for that the drive is using. How do I accomplish this? I'm not sure which parameter to send back to the PLC so that I may calculate kilowatts.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:10 PM   #2
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Barranquilla, Colombia
Posts: 2,946
I have never installed devicenet with a 1336 Plus, but with powerflex. In any case use datalinks and configure your drive, so that you can get KW data in your plc. I guess you use 20-comm-d board for devicenet, pease take a look at the example on the manual and you will see how easy is to configure datalinks. Look for KW data in your drive parameter and this parameter has to be one of your datalinks.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:51 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,676
Parameter 23 on the 1336 Plus II drive is Output Kilowatts.

It's scaled in internal units where 4096 = Rated Kilowatts for the drive. You'll have to do some math on the value to account for the efficiency of the drive and the scaling of the value.

What model of controller are you using ? It may be easier to perform a MSG instruction than to change the I/O map to add a DataLink to your configuration.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:11 PM   #4
B Fix
Member
United States

B Fix is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 17
Thanks for the help. I was thinking of using parameter 23, but wasn't sure what I was getting when I had that one being brought back to the PLC. Looking at the parameters when the drive was running at 10% (6 Hz in this case) parameter 23 was reading 1.47 KW, and my datalink into my PLC was reading bouncing around 24-28 range, not sure how 1.47 KW is becoming 24-28 in my PLC, and what numbers I use to get this 24-28 number into the 1.47 KW again. The rated KW of the drive according to parameter 171 is 261 KW. I'm using a Logix5000 controller for this as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:38 PM   #5
B Fix
Member
United States

B Fix is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 17
Thanks again guys, that is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you very much!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:44 PM   #6
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is online now
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,412
1.47/261= .00563

.00563*4096= 23.06

So to get KW

Raw counts * ( 261/Raw Counts)= KW

4096*(261/4096)= 261KW

24*(261/4096)= 1.529KW
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:44 PM   #7
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,676
The scale of 0 to 4096 "drive units" equals 0 to Rated Kw.

4095 / 261 = x / 1.47

x= 23.06

I'd just use a Compute instruction in ControlLogix to convert drive units to kW.
__________________
- "Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool."
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:45 PM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,676
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan rotation in RSView32 nirmal LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 July 11th, 2011 02:22 AM
OT Question About Leaking Fan Shaft Seals: Russ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 15th, 2007 05:47 PM
A plea for help...and mentor damianjones LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 72 February 7th, 2007 12:10 PM
Fan Mismatch Alarm Logic - PLC5 (? use of OSF, OSR, etc) deemz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 11th, 2006 01:42 PM
Vfd Fan Power bwheat LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 13th, 2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


.