Is freezing logic in a Click PLC possible?

quietman187

Hi all, student newbie here.

Was curious if there was anyway to stop logic from running during break times? Like all physical and software inputs stop functioning for a certain period of time based on the PLC's internal clock. (off from 0915-0930). No input from operators, just repeats itself daily.

Is this possible?

I am not that familiar with Click software but if you could put all the logic in a subroutine, maybe the internal clock could switch off and on the subroutine at the desired times. Another possibility is to add a bit in each rung that was controlled by the internal clock. Probably using the 1st method would be easier to understand.

Last edited:
Doesn't sound like the best idea. It probably would be better to build a timer or RTC logic into your logic that would "inhibit" outputs from being true.

Not sure with the click and the real time clock, but you could build your routines to be called off the state of the clock if the click allows it or a timer, if time is between x then instruct to call routines.

Don't ever stop logic from executing. Ever.*

If you have an output turned on, and then you stop scanning that rung, the output won't turn off just because its rung stopped being scanned. The only way for the output to be turned off is if some code is executed that turns it off - like a reset coil, or a regular coil that has no "power flow" into it.

So if you suddenly stop executing code, the machine won't stop - it'll just hold exactly the state it's in, whatever that is.

You should instead program a controlled shutdown at the required times, and inhibit any restarts.

*OK, there are a few reasons to do this, but not many good ones, and if you're a student, they probably won't really be applicable to anything you're doing.