Basic Programming

cougar440

HI Folks:
I am new to PLCs, teaching my self with the Koldwater course, SLC-500. I am studying the Jump / TND and LBL commands.

In writing a PLC program is it a bad idea to use the same I/0 address in both the main ladder and the area bounded by the JMP and TND. I have the same question for inside the main ladder program and inside various subroutines. My thought for using the same I/O addresses is that it may be easier to follow with fewer addresses to consider.

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the Forum!

Generally the answer would be yes, that is a bad idea. In terms of trying to follow along with what the program is doing it will make it more confusing because you will have to be watching very closely to see if a bits status is having an effect on the JMP/LBL, sub-routine, or main routine. It is much easier if you can use separate address for each situation. There are certainly cases where this is not possible, but when you can use a different bit , it is probability best to do so.

Bubba.

Thanks Buba, I am currently writing a routine to start 3 vs 6 conveyers and stop them. The 3 vs 6 routine are separated via the jump /JMP command. I will use new different addresses.

Cougar440

One thing you CAN do in a situation like you described is to use permissives. It works like this:

You have some logic that determines if bit1 should have a 1 or zero in it's bitbox
You have your other subroutines determine if bit2 should have a 1 or zero in it's bitbox

You use another rung elsewhere in the program that evaluates all of your permissive bits to actually turn on the output. This way each bit and output is only used ONCE in the program as an OTE or OTL. Most importantly, your output itself is only used ONCE as an OTE or OTL. This eliminates confusion and gives you the flexibility to have conditions for that output wherever you need.

Don't use LBL/JUMP, like, ever.

It confuse the heck out of people who will have to support the program.