Modbus - change setpoints and settings

rQx

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,
We have modbus tcp implemented in s7-1200. For now it has been only control and status. Now we want to change settings. I have never done it before and just need a push in the right direction.

Normally I have had all data in a datablock called modbus only for modbus, but since I now want to change settings from both modbus, hmi and plc I figure I need to write to the same variable from all places? The setting variables are in a datablock called hmisettings. Is it a good solution to write directly from modbus to the hmisettings datablock? I would prefer to have it seperated to have more control over the modbus comm.

/Tim

Hi,

A lot of this will depend on how you've configured your system - i.e. which device within the network is acting as client or server (server effectively being the 'Slave' and client the 'Master'). Then you can look at which function codes to use (e.g. Function 06 - write single word).

Rob

Hi,

A lot of this will depend on how you've configured your system - i.e. which device within the network is acting as client or server (server effectively being the 'Slave' and client the 'Master'). Then you can look at which function codes to use (e.g. Function 06 - write single word).

Rob

Hi,

Sorry I forgot to add that information. We are the slave in this case.
I have no problem writing and using the modbus communication protocol but it's how I'm going to handle it in the PLC when letting the Client write to setpoints.

If I for example let the modbus client send values to a Setpoint used by the HMI and PLC then I can't change this setpoint from the HMI anylonger since the modbus client will overwrite it assuming the client is have established a cyclic communication with the server.

Or should I make the client send setpoints to its own adress and then let the client trigger the changes with a command that is moving the modbus values to the setpoint?