Powerflex 525 AOI

Alphite

Hi,

I need to set up a mixing station with 7 PF 525s. All I need is start, stop, forward, reverse and a fault message. Each mixer should be controlled by rpm, and this should also be displayed on the HMI (so I have to convert rpm to frequency at some point).

My question is whether or not the AOI is the right way to go. I'm relatively new to programming, and would like to implement the simplest solution for this, that is easiest to debug. The AOI has bits to switch between operator and program command, and I'm not sure if I can just remove all of these and use the remaining code?

Does anyone have examples they could share?

Thanks

Hey,
I recommend the AOI. Comes with Icons and Faceplates too. If you want to negate the operator vs program modes you can hard code logic to lock it one or the other modes.

Build your own AOI, using the AB-provided AOI as a "how to" guide to get you started. I've done this for just about every device I've ever used, and never regretted it once. My team loves it because every program looks the same and we can all work on each other's code seamlessly; the customer loves it because their maintenance guys aren't interested in looking through reams of ladder logic which does the background communication to the drive, they just want to see what makes the motor go (or not go). The "black box that just works" is appealing to the simpler-minded maintenance people, and if one of them does want to get more into the intricacies of the control, they can open up the AOI and have a look, but can't break anything.