Rockwell v Tia Portal

mad4x4

Im a rockwell programmer, but I need to do some stuff in TIA Portal.

So in Rockwell i'd create a UDT structure and Pass that in and out of multiple add onStructures, each of these structures would have a Instanst structure in the Local or Global Tags this was used for thing like the timer memory and intermediates when doing calcs etc. Setpoints were either passed in at Addon Call or Read from the UDT.

SO In Tia Portal :
ive defined.

FB1 - FB_Scale_Analog - My Code = ADDON?
DB3- Mem_Analog CH1 - 1st memory Instance = Instanst structure ?
Data type - Sig_DataType - Structure for My Sensor = UDT?

Is a FB the Same as an Addon Insturction
Is the FB Instance ( Mem_AnalogCh1_1[DB3]) the same as the Addon Instance Structure in RockW
Can I pass an Custom Data type in/out like I do in rockwell - is this the correct way or do I just access every thing from the DB3, if this is the case should I define them as TEMP and will they be retained e.g. AnalogSetP - Real -> FB1->Temp or Static. Also what I call instance 2 of FB1?

Sorry for the scatterbrain question but i didn't know how to "google this"

Last edited:
Generally, yes to what you wrote.
An FB in TIA is similar to an AOI in RSLogix. Difference is that in TIA you can download a modified block at runtime with no issues, as long as you dont change the declaration part.

Can I pass an Custom Data type in/out like I do in rockwell - is this the correct way or do I just access every thing from the DB3,
Generally, data that is expected to be accessed outside the FB should be passed in and out. That includes data that is accessed by an HMI. Unless the data is very simple, always define it by userdefined Data Types.
Data that is being accessed by the FB only should be part of the STAT (static) declaration of the FB.
, if this is the case should I define them as TEMP and will they be retained