backup configuration on devicenet

sirjonesy

hi there
if i have a slc 5/05 set up with 3 devicenet scanners and want to upload a backup file of the networks in rsnetwork. can you browse so all 3 scanners and their modules appear? or is it 3 seperate files that needs to be saved.

I use this manual

https://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1747-um655_-en-p.pdf

I use a ethernet cable and do a setup as they do from page 65. I made an upload of the scanner and choosed slot 12 since one of the scanners had that position in the rack. But only the scanner slot 12 was visible, the modules in the scanners scanlist did not appear on the node. (figure I need to make 3 files, since they are not a part of the same chain).

I have limited experience with devicenet, since its so old that we only heard little about it in school.

I have limited experience with devicenet, since its so old that we only heard little about it in school.

I think you meant, you are so young and have little experience, hence why you no little about Devicenet.:ROFLMAO:

A individual DeviceNet file is made for each scanner card, in RSNetworx the path tree will come up like in RSLINX, you then need to define the path to one scanner at a time.
It needs to do a scan before you will see all the Devicenet modules attached to the scanner.
With luck Geospark might do you a tutorial.

Last edited:
Duckman...you making work for me?...

sirjonesy said:
...if i have a slc 5/05 set up with 3 devicenet scanners and want to upload a backup file of the networks in rsnetwork. can you browse so all 3 scanners and their modules appear?...

No, you cannot browse them all at once. As these are typically isolated DeviceNet networks, you will have to browse to each network separately and perform a backup.

sirjonesy said:
...or is it 3 seperate files that needs to be saved...

Yes, a separate DeviceNet (DNT) file would be saved for each of the networks.

sirjonesy said:
...I use this manual