You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread March 27th, 2005, 05:04 PM   #1
talibozek
Member
United States

talibozek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
PLC on an Anilam M1400 CNC Control

Hello,

For starters, I have about 24 hours of PLC programming experience...but I have skills in other languages, C, C++, etc.

I'm trying to help my father out in connecting a HAAS rotary indexer to a CNC with an Anilam M1400 control. It's a relay connection to activate the indexer and the indexer control has a relay connection back to the Anilam to signal it cycle has completed.

I'm not sure what type/brand/model PLC is used in this control, but I can see the instruction set is very limited compared to some of the documentation that I've been reading online.

The problem that I am having is that I need to activate a relay for 500ms, then release. Here is a snippet of what I have to do this so far (that doesn't work)

LD T10
IF 5
RES HAAS_START
EDF 5

IF 10 ( M_CODE eq 10 )
SET HAAS_START
OUT TON10 .5
EDF 10

M10 is used to activate the indexer in the Anilam control software. Activating the relay works fine.
Now, all this TON10, T10 stuff, I found pieces of in some old PLC code I found in a pile of papers. I'm not even sure if T10 is associated with TON10.
Depending if I used an LD or an LDI, the control will either hang after an M10 instruction or the relay will cycle so quickly that the control will not detect the activation.

I'm hoping someone out there is familiar with this style. I haven't been able to find anything similiar to this online.


Thanks for your help,
-Tim
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 27th, 2005, 06:27 PM   #2
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,434
Anilam merged with Acu-rite back in 2002. You may get some help from them tomorrow if you strike out here.
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 27th, 2005, 06:31 PM   #3
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,434
PS: I believe the Anilam control you're speaking of is PC based.
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 29th, 2005, 04:09 PM   #4
talibozek
Member
United States

talibozek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Yes, correct, it is PC Based. I was able to find a manual for the Anilam IPI, which helped me greatly.
Now I have a question about inputs and now a PLC reads the inputs.
The problem I think is that the indexer provides a 250ms pulse when it has completed its rotation. I think the PLC misses the pulse. Is there a way, without an external circuit, to make an input buffered so that the PLC will be able to catch that it's input has gone high since the last loop?
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 29th, 2005, 04:17 PM   #5
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by talibozek
Yes, correct, it is PC Based. I was able to find a manual for the Anilam IPI, which helped me greatly.
Now I have a question about inputs and now a PLC reads the inputs.
The problem I think is that the indexer provides a 250ms pulse when it has completed its rotation. I think the PLC misses the pulse. Is there a way, without an external circuit, to make an input buffered so that the PLC will be able to catch that it's input has gone high since the last loop?
Yes, a internal timer or latch circuit can be used "catch" and/or "extend" the input.

Is the PLC in your situation a different piece of electronics or is it a piece of software running on the PC in combination with some I/O boards.
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 31st, 2005, 01:24 PM   #6
talibozek
Member
United States

talibozek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
It's a physically separate module from the PC. You have to manually upload the code from the control to the PLC module.

I tried this piece of code without much luck...

#define HAAS_FIN X1
#define HAAS_START Y5

IF 10 ( MCODE EQ 10 )
LD HAAS_FIN
OTI HAAS_START
EDF 10

I understand this to be, "Activate HAAS_START until HAAS_FIN goes high or 30 seconds has elapsed"

This resulted in HAAS_START going high for ~30 seconds...even though I can see the X1 (HAAS_FIN) LED blink for 1/4 second.

Is this considered a catch or latch instruction?

thanks,
-Tim
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 31st, 2005, 01:52 PM   #7
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by talibozek
It's a physically separate module from the PC. You have to manually upload the code from the control to the PLC module.

I tried this piece of code without much luck...

#define HAAS_FIN X1
#define HAAS_START Y5

IF 10 ( MCODE EQ 10 )
LD HAAS_FIN
OTI HAAS_START
EDF 10

I understand this to be, "Activate HAAS_START until HAAS_FIN goes high or 30 seconds has elapsed"

This resulted in HAAS_START going high for ~30 seconds...even though I can see the X1 (HAAS_FIN) LED blink for 1/4 second.

Is this considered a catch or latch instruction?

thanks,
-Tim
No, a latch will hold the state until such time as its released. This sounds more like a timer; the input signal starts the timer and the timer's output will be set for as long as the timer is programmed to (in this case 30 seconds).

In "psuedo C" (its been a few languages ago)

#define input boolean
#define timer_preset 30
#define output boolean
#define timer integer

output = false
while (not input) do nothing {wait or input signal}
timer = 0
output = true
while (timer < timer_preset) do every second timer = timer + 1
output = false
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 07:24 AM
CNC and PLC communication ihathiari LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 13th, 2004 01:24 AM
PLC for CNC toolchanger snaggletto LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 2nd, 2004 03:24 PM
PLC used with CNC machines OAS LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 22nd, 2004 09:15 PM
comparison between plc and conventional control joel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 5th, 2002 10:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


.