You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread January 25th, 2014, 06:41 AM   #1
minaykha
Member
Singapore

minaykha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: singapore
Posts: 96
1769 SDN Scanner Error Code 91

Dear All,

I am using Compact Logix PLC, 1769 SDN scanner with 52 slave devices for my network.

Now,I am facing with a problem in my DeviceNet Network.

When i power up the system from black out condition ( initial power up ),scanner show the error code 91.

It happen only sometime like random.

When i shut down the power again and restart, then was ok.

My customer want me to make sure not to happen this in future.

I can't figure out what is the root cause and i got no idea how to solve the problem.

Can anyone give me some suggestion ?
Thank You.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 25th, 2014, 10:10 AM   #2
JeffKiper
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

JeffKiper is offline
 
JeffKiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,197
Make sure your Bus voltage is on before bringing up the SDN.

I have not done this so just a thought. Delay the scanner from going into run until the DeviceNet power supply has came up and running. Is the power supply DeviceNet compliant? If the power supply is slow to startup and the scanner goes into run it could see the bus low.
__________________
There should be a minimum IQ before people can breed.

FS Eng (TÜV Rheinland, #11004/15, Machinery)
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 26th, 2014, 06:14 AM   #3
minaykha
Member
Singapore

minaykha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: singapore
Posts: 96
Dear Jeff,

Thank for your advice.

I will use delay timer for Command Register Run to make sure Bus voltage is on before bringing up the SDN.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 26th, 2014, 12:10 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,962
The Bus Off error (code 91) can happen whether the scanner is communicating or not.

Jeff Kiper identified the most likely problem; the supply voltage has to go from zero to full voltage (24V DC) within 250 milliseconds when the system is powered up.

53 nodes is a large DeviceNet network. Is it using a single power supply ? It's very easy to break the +24V bus and split the network among multiple power supplies.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 27th, 2014, 07:54 AM   #5
minaykha
Member
Singapore

minaykha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: singapore
Posts: 96
Dear Ken,

Yes, it is using single power supply. Is it wrong design ?

How does people design normally ? Any suggestion ?
Thank.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB DeviceNet Scanner Issue (1769-SDN) pickerel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 10th, 2018 10:37 AM
1769 Devicenet Scanner Command Array minaykha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 25th, 2016 10:29 AM
RSNetworx and RSlinx cannot see DEvicenet scanner 1769 SDN jj4parker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 22nd, 2013 10:15 AM
Compact Logix Devicenet scanner Error 91 maiko LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 13th, 2012 05:21 PM
1747 SDN scanner and ADR Sirius12 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 26th, 2009 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


.