problems with 1394 gmc digital servo controller

euipfacil

I'm new at this but anyway, I have a 1394 Gmc digital controller set up to cut rubber extrusion. Problem; when the count reaches 1999 it faults the controller and I must restart. If I set it below 1999 everything is fine. I am told that axis zero is set to 1999 max and I need to change that to 3999. My controller is a 1394CSJT05-L series C. I need to know what software to buy to get online so I can change this value, I am told GML commander will work but virtually obsolete. Will RSLOGIX 5000 communicate with this drive?

Thanks for any help I'm lost and in China!
LR

Be advised, that unless you have a copy of the original GLM Commander source code that was used to download to the drive, simply getting a copy of GML Commander will not help you in any way. GML Commander needs the original source code in order to see the program.
This was my experience on a site where I had 80 axis of 1394 active.
This was a real pain, in that it made maintaining the system difficult, without the source files, which of course, I didn't have either.

What jdbrandt says is correct for monitoring user variables or for modifying code.

But you can monitor system and axes status variables.

If the value you need to modify is part of the axis configuration, then you may be able to upload the settings and download them with your changes, even without the original code.

It is something best left to a person with a great deal of experience with your particular system or someone well versed in GML and the 1394 system.

Definitely search for a copy of the .gml file with at least the axis configurations and user variable names, as this will save you a tremendous amount of time.

Paul