4-20 signal

averytc

A
Hi. I am fairly new to PLC programming and I have a simple question. We use AB SLC 5/04 and 5/05 PLCs. The programmer who originally set up all of our 4-20 signals scaled them from 3.5 AMPS to 20.5 AMPS, and set up the corresponding output range from a negative number below the expected range to a positive number above the expected range. Ie: 0-600 F is scaled –18.75 to 618.75. The engineer that I am working with tells me that this should not be the case. Can anyone tell me if this in necessary and explain why or why not?

It's not necessarily good practice, but it isn't necessarily bad practice either. It depends on why the original programmer did this and what his logic does with it.

One advantage of a 4-20 mA over a 0-20 mA signal is the "live zero". The 20% offset is used to distinguish between a dead transmitter (0 mA) and a zero process measurement (4 mA). Some I/O modules set a bit or use another means to indicate that the signal value has dropped below a threshold (say 3.5 mA) and the transmitter or wiring may be no good. The original programmer may have been using the 3.5 mA bottom range so he can set an alarm in his logic to indicate a failed transmitter.

On the top end, most transmitters will go slightly over 20 mA if the proces variable is beyond the nominal range of the device. The original programmer may have wanted to catch this condition as well.

Or, the origninal programmer may have been compensating for calibration errors in his logic.

Or, he may just have been trying to be cute!

Is it necessary? No. Is it a bad thing? Maybe, maybe not.

With the over/under range setup that you indicated, it will give you some room
to detect a shorted or open device and still have the normal range available
from 0 to 100 percent.

I think he was just being cute.

You don't say what kind of modules you are using, but if it's not a Class 3, then you can't change the scaling of the input module, but you can make it look like you are.