You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 15th, 2020, 12:53 PM   #1
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 46
Messaging through a 1783-NATR question

I have a machine with a small private network that is connected to our process network through a 1783-NATR.
I would like to get some tags from a ControlLogix on the public network passed to a CompactLogix on the private network but am having problems setting up a communication path.

Public network L61 = 10.41.30.x

1783-NATR

Private network L33ERM = 192.168.1.2

I have the L33ERM mapped to the translation table on the NATR and can access it from the public network with no problems.

Do I need to map the public network L61 so the private network L33ERM can see it?
I tried adding the L61 (10.41.30.x) mapped to 192.168.1.5 but I get a duplicate IP fault on the NATR when I add that mapping rule.

Any ideas how to set this up? Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2020, 01:30 PM   #2
JasonTheSparky
Member
United States

JasonTheSparky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 174
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=119313
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2020, 02:35 PM   #3
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,316
I suspect once you clear the confusion for us you will get your answer.

Each ethernet presence only require one translation.

So, for example:

Public 10.41.30.1 == Private 192.168.1.1
Public 10.41.30.3 == Private 192.168.1.5

but this is not ok:

Public 10.41.30.1 == Private 192.168.1.1
Public 10.41.30.1 == Private 192.168.1.5
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2020, 05:24 PM   #4
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 46
Sorry for the confusion.

The NATR is configured on both private and public networks with IP and gateways.

NAT rules as shown on the attached screenshot.
One PLC and one HMI on the private network which do translate through to the public with no problem. One PLC on the public network is not translating through to the private network. That IP is showing an IP conflict on the Address Conflict tab of the NATR status page. Shown in second screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Clipboard01.jpg (79.9 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Clipboard02.jpg (65.8 KB, 14 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2020, 12:33 PM   #5
Gadelric
Member
United States

Gadelric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 106
It appears to me that you are trying to bring the Public PLC to the Local PLC network? is that correct?

I dont believe you will be able to do it that way.
The NATR translates the Local PLC and puts it on the Public network.
All coms between the "Local" PLC and the one on the Public network should use the network configuration that was given to the Local PLC by the NATR.

IE.) Local PLC IP= 192.168.1.1, translated to 10.10.2.20, when talking to the Public PLC that is 10.10.2.30, all coms between those two PLC will use the 10.10.2.xxx IP addresses. the 192.168.1.1 is irrelevant to the Public network.
When Public PLC wants to talk to the Local PLC it will hit the 10.10.2.20 IP address, and the NATR will translate it to the 192 IP address.
This goes for the other way as well, when Local PLC 192 IP wants to talk to the Public PLC, you set the com IP to 10.10.2.30 and the NATR will do the rest.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Gad

Last edited by Gadelric; December 16th, 2020 at 12:39 PM. Reason: typo
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2020, 12:47 PM   #6
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,316
Nothing obvious wrong with your configuration that I can see.

ok, what happens when you ping x.x.x.16 on the pubic side, what happens when you ping 192.168.1.50 at the private side?

Are you sure you are not having a duplicate IP address?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2020, 07:19 PM   #7
BinderNut
Member
United States

BinderNut is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ND
Posts: 46
Problem solved. Forgot to follow-up here.
I defaulted the NATR and repeated setup.
I'm thinking there was a problem with the private gateway hitting the public network gateway or vice versa.

The public net PLC is visible on the private net now. I did not need to map it to the NAT table.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLC Messaging Question gmarowski LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 9th, 2020 11:32 AM
This is less of a PLC question and more an AutoCad Electrical Question Controls_Engineer79 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 31st, 2009 01:47 PM
Question on Messaging syu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 12th, 2008 06:02 PM
DH + Question kbradray LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 1st, 2008 02:02 PM
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way Ken Roach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 26th, 2007 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 PM.


.