You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12th, 2021, 09:43 AM   #1
Gadelric
Member
United States

Gadelric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 106
Image Capture project

Wizards,

New project came across my desk yesterday.

Basic objective:

When a product passes its functionality test, take a picture of the part and save it. Saved file must contain the products traceable code. Each product gets a unique code, for tracking purposes, and this trace code is held in the PLC.

Additional info:
1.) Do not use the PC that is already in the equipment because that PC is used to test the parts and we don't want to do anything that would cause this PC to run slow/crash.

2.) Use the cameras that we have in house already. Keyence IV-2 is the camera(s) I have available that produce the best image.

3.) Add a display that will show the image(s), display will also inform the operators the final image has been stored so they know when to remove the part from the test equipment.


Overall, seems simple enough.
I have chosen the Keyence IV-2 because it gives a great image, as well as it has the ability to save pictures to a file.
I have built a display using Advanced HMI.
I am going to have to figure out some custom code to get the pictures to load and then resave them in another location with the correct file name.

My questions are:
Am I over complicating this? I tend to do that.
Is there a better way that I should go about this?
If my current process seems valid, any recommendations for vb2019 code samples?


Gad
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 09:47 AM   #2
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 979
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=126669
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 09:59 AM   #3
Gadelric
Member
United States

Gadelric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 106
Thank you for the link, I am limited to what I already have in house.
This tester they want me to add these cameras to will only be here for 2 years and then we get a new one. All new equipment will already have final images, so everything I am doing here is "temporary".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 10:02 AM   #4
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 979
Well, there is some food for thought within the link I provided.

In my experience, temporary can become "temporary-permanent", and in my opinion, 2 years is long enough to justify doing it right.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 10:08 AM   #5
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,056
one thing you must consider.
the size of the picture (pixels vs file size)
the system you are saving the images to, some systems limit the file storage in a directory to 2 GB, some more, some less. the also limit the number of files in a directory.
i ran into this issue several years ago.
james
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 10:09 AM   #6
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_msp View Post
Well, there is some food for thought within the link I provided.

In my experience, temporary can become "temporary-permanent", and in my opinion, 2 years is long enough to justify doing it right.
"Temporary"

I have temporary fixes that have been running for 20 years.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2021, 11:30 AM   #7
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Automation View Post
"Temporary"

I have temporary fixes that have been running for 20 years.



There is a thread about that from sometime in the past year or so.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 02:25 PM   #8
Gadelric
Member
United States

Gadelric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 106
Update,

I was able to everything working as a proof of concept, and then I gave them the price tag to replace the items we would use out of MRO stock and now everything is on hold...
Each of you provided me with some insight on things I had either overlooked or underestimated.
Thank you for all the feedback.

At least I had a couple days of something to keep my mind busy.


Gad
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 07:01 PM   #9
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Automation View Post
"Temporary"

I have temporary fixes that have been running for 20 years.
When I was an apprentice, I got a call in one Saturday to implement a temporary fix on a machine. The machine itself was a hastily thrown together assembly of spare parts, intended as temporary fix to solve a manual handling problem, until a permanent solution was implemented. This "temporary fix" machine had been in place longer than I'd been alive.

I don't know if my temporary fix of a temporary fix ever did get permanently fixed. I know that the permanent fix for the machine itself never did eventuate. There is nothing so permanent as a temporary solution that works.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2021, 04:47 AM   #10
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
There is nothing so permanent as a temporary solution that works.
I have a water utility here that we had a call from in 2015. Small bore pump not going. Diagnosed it was a bore casing / screen failure. Because of how their network is configured we were able to pump from another supply into this one, so within 24 hrs we'd rigged up a pump on a unistrut skid, a VSD in a cheap fibreglass enclosure and a pressure sensor wired direct into the drive to do a PID loop. This all ran on a hired diesel generator.

I figured they'd have a well driller in and a new bore sorted in maybe a month. Generator was costing them 8k a month for rental and fuel.

After a month they wanted to know what it would cost to get a permanent power supply installed to the temporary pump.

6 months later they sent through a purchase order for that. (The rental cost over those 6 months was twice the cost of the new transformer and mains connection).

We're now in 2021 and I've just replaced the motor bearings on that poor little temporary pump which has been running 24/7 since 2015.

I've priced for a permanent pump station twice since then. Still no progress.

I'm off elsewhere shortly, but i bet if I come back in 5 years time that pump will still be there, and the new maintenance guy will be saying "which a$$hole installed this rubbish! You call this a pump station!?"
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FactoryTalk View Project question/s busarider29 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 26th, 2015 10:10 AM
canīt complete integration of the WinCC flexible project on step7 gtoka LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 19th, 2012 07:39 AM
time!!!!!!!! maddy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 June 29th, 2010 01:54 PM
WinCC Flex project in use Jeebs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 5th, 2007 07:36 AM
WinCC flex problem when retriveing a project NoName LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 19th, 2007 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


.