You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 24th, 2021, 10:03 AM   #1
Gadelric
Member
United States

Gadelric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 106
Modbus set-up

Wizards,

I hope everyone survived the storms the last few weeks.

After everything calmed down here in Oklahoma, I was farmed out to get this Signal-fire wireless telemetry system working.

This project was started in 2016 and abandoned shortly after.

I have managed to get the signal fire things to work, and located a RTA 460ETCMC Modbus master to transfer data from the Modbus slave to the control logix plc.

Useful information:

Slave Register data:
Type-Pressure Scout
Name-System_9
Slave ID- 109
Node Address- 45569

I need to monitor the Pressure and the Battery alarm

Pressure is Data type 16bit UINIT
Pressure Register Address is 3001

Low battery alarm is
Data type 16bit UINIT
Register address 65523


In the end, there will be 30+ different slave devices with unique ID, Name and Node Address.
Batteries are dead in most of them, so I will not be able to configure them all, but I do have 3 that are functional. (have to shut down the paint system to change batteries, so they wont be working until after this weekend shutdown. The whole, blow up the building from sparks thing...)

Thanks in advance,

Gad.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2021, 10:39 AM   #2
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 3,174
You'll have to check the slave documentation to see whether the values are in holding registers at (4)xxxxx or Input Registers at (3)xxxxx because the command that the master issues depends on which type of register in which the slave holds the data


could be

pressure at (4)003001 or (3)003001
low battery alarm at (4)65523 or (3)65523 (most likely a Holding register because a battery alarm is not an input)


register values like you've given are most like one-based, not zero based register addresses.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
m340 modbus Raptor666 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 42 February 6th, 2018 04:53 PM
1770-KFD and 1747-SDN - cannot set driver **Bolty** LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 20th, 2017 08:17 AM
Redlion TechNote Question mjoubert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 March 1st, 2015 10:22 AM
Omron CP1H Easy Modbus to Miri ad2006 schisms LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 25th, 2011 12:20 AM
S7 315-2DP / 341 Modbus Master with Multiple Slaves richyr32gtr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 14th, 2009 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 PM.


.