You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 12th, 2018, 04:54 PM   #1
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Downloading a Panelview program.

I have a SLC 5/03 and I connect vie 1747 UIC cable via ethernet plug in.
The panelview 600 PN is - 2711-T6C16L1 It is only TOUCH screen. I had an Error 31 earlier this morning and cleaned out the pv but some buttons are not working so I am needing to upload the program to my pc for when the new part arrives.
It uses a RS232 DHF1 connection to via serial cable to plug in the SLC.

Now when I am logged into Panel Builder 32 I can see the PV but I can never connect there is always a red X over it.
Also when I look in RSlinx I can see the pv also when I check to make sure my connection via the cable is working.


Recently I was able to download another PV program on a different machine but it was using DH+ connection at 57k baud.
Here a few pics of the SLC and PV..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181112_131754.jpg (157 Bytes, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 20181112_131440.jpg (157 Bytes, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20180926_095738.jpg (157 Bytes, 9 views)

Last edited by Leukic; November 12th, 2018 at 04:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 05:37 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
That panelview is a DF1-RS232 type, so you can't use the 1747-UIC cable with it. The UIC cable is designed for DH485 protocol. You need a 2711-NC13 or equivalent cable to use RSLinx/PB32 for upload and download purposes.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 05:54 PM   #3
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
That panelview is a DF1-RS232 type, so you can't use the 1747-UIC cable with it. The UIC cable is designed for DH485 protocol. You need a 2711-NC13 or equivalent cable to use RSLinx/PB32 for upload and download purposes.
The cable also has a switch to use RS232(485) and a separate serial connection that is uses to connect to the PLC. By hooking directly to the PV and still could not download the file. Thanks for the info ill look into the cable and see if I have one at work.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 06:18 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
It is still DH485 protocol even when using the RS-232 connector on the cable and RS-232 electrical spec. So it still won't work for your situation. It is a bit confusing that RS-485 and RS-232 are electrical specifications and DH485 and DF1 are protocols. The protocol and the electrical spec are two different aspects of the same puzzle and they both need to match your hardware, but there are devices that can use DH485 protocol on RS-232 wiring and you can even use DF1 protocol on RS-485 wiring. They could have saved us all from some confusion if they had named the protocols something more distinguishable from the wiring specs they ride on.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 06:21 PM   #5
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
It is still DH485 protocol even when using the RS-232 connector on the cable and RS-232 electrical spec. So it still won't work for your situation. It is a bit confusing that RS-485 and RS-232 are electrical specifications and DH485 and DF1 are protocols. The protocol and the electrical spec are two different aspects of the same puzzle and they both need to match your hardware, but there are devices that can use DH485 protocol on RS-232 wiring and you can even use DF1 protocol on RS-485 wiring. They could have saved us all from some confusion if they had named the protocols something more distinguishable from the wiring specs they ride on.
I agree thus why I posted here because I wasn't really understanding why it would not connect. But I am sure I have a serial cable like that at work that I will connect in the morning and upload the program from the pb32. THanks for the input.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 06:27 PM   #6
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
Why not used the one that is connected to the PLC's serial port?
I honestly didn't think about that. Considering how short the reach is of that cable. Thats a GOOd call Mickey. It will just be a few minutes of a pain in the *** holding the laptop up that close to the while trying to use it haha.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 06:29 PM   #7
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,149
Does your laptop have a real serial port?

If not you will need a USB to serial adapter.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2018, 06:30 PM   #8
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
Does your laptop have a real serial port?

If not you will need a USB to serial adapter.
I think so but I will have to check in the AM and report back. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2018, 08:28 AM   #9
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Tried connecting via the serial cable that goes from the plc to the PV. The error I get

If you are using direct connection to the panel view via DF1, ensure that it DOES NOT have the printer port enabled.

The problem is the touch screen which doesn't completely work for every button. I can not get to the printer config screen. I will have to keep working and see if I can get that side of the touch screen to work.
Thanks for the input guys
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2018, 08:56 AM   #10
Leukic
Member
United States

Leukic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Leesville
Posts: 33
Alright guys I figured it out. I used the same serial cable as mickey suggested but the issue I had in my previous post was my own fault. I did NOT swap the cable to the RS232 port on the PV when I had it plugged into my computer.
Once I swapped it I was able to reconfigure the driver for DF1 485 Com port1 station 2 and it connected and I was able to upload the PV program to my laptop.
So that being said when the new PV arrives tomorrow i should be able to plug the lap top in and download the program to the new one.
Thanks mickey and okiepc for your help!!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2018, 01:15 PM   #11
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,149
You're welcome
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi:Problem with downloading program to Q PLC anhtuandrg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 19th, 2015 12:48 AM
Crouzet M3, trouble downloading an existing program from PLC floydy1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 25th, 2015 03:29 PM
Uploading a program from a A-B 2711P-K6M20A8 pANELVIEW PLUS 600 ksa858 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 21st, 2015 10:57 AM
Panelview Plus Program Update Tim Ganz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 18th, 2012 01:24 PM
Downloading Panelview App from XP laptop JohnDruzianic LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 13th, 2010 07:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


.