You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 6th, 2019, 12:56 PM   #1
tbennett4u
Member
Canada

tbennett4u is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Spruce Grove
Posts: 8
What (less expensive) network equip. do you suggest for light industrial networking?

Not a PLC specific question, but has to do with PLC network communications.

I need to spec out network equipment for a distributed data center, basically several building modules dispersed over a site, each module housing building automation for temperature control and a variety of computing equipment.

Looking for reliable, inexpensive networking equipment to facilitate communications for several networks (VLANs); a control network (within each module and from module to central SCADA), a data network (for distributed computing needs), and potential a business network.

Up for consideration right now are:
What less expensive make/models of network equipment have you used and how was the experience and results?
Any experience with Aruba or Ubiquiti?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 12:58 PM   #2
DBLD99
Member
United States

DBLD99 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 215
We have been using NTRON - 7026TX and 7010TX series almost exclusively.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 01:30 PM   #3
Ken Moore
Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 2,374
I have had good success using Moxa on restricted budget projects.

https://www.moxa.com/en/
__________________
"To give real service you must add something that cannot be bought or measured with money; and that is sincerity and integrity."
- Donald A. Adams

  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 01:38 PM   #4
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 243
I would ask 2 questions.

- Does it matter if the network goes down (production/data)?

- What is the plan for scalability?

With that in mind, I would have a dedicated switch for each vlan and not cut up the switches with vlans. This will save you and electricians a lot of head scratching when someone randomly unplugs from a port and plugs into the port next to it.

edit - I prefer Cisco but $2k a switch is a bit high, the NTRONs I've used work, but the few I had you needed to get comfortable before putting them in production.

Last edited by VAN; February 6th, 2019 at 01:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 01:58 PM   #5
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Barranquilla, Colombia
Posts: 2,664
+1 for Ntron.
https://www.redlion.net/n-tron
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 02:46 PM   #6
Ken Moore
Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 2,374
I have used Ubiquiti for Camera systems, but not for critical applications.
__________________
"To give real service you must add something that cannot be bought or measured with money; and that is sincerity and integrity."
- Donald A. Adams

  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 07:19 PM   #7
shawn_75
Member
United States

shawn_75 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 359
I recently installed half a dozen Cisco SG-250 small business switches. They are working great. They don't work with Cisco Network Assistant, but do have a decent web interface. They're fanless and don't even get remotely warm while 40 or so IP camera feeds run through them.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 07:29 PM   #8
cyoung120
Member
United States

cyoung120 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: OH
Posts: 37
I have several Ubiquiti switches used in a camera system, they have been powered up and working for over 800 days.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 06:44 AM   #9
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,326
I'm using the Automation Direct Stride SE2 series now.
I was using NTRON for a while, until I realized that their per-port DHCP server was next to useless, and they refuse to upgrade it at all.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 09:38 AM   #10
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 406
Have had good luck with Brainboxes products.
http://us.brainboxes.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 10:00 AM   #11
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 109
Currently working on a project with existing N-Tron and Hirschmann (Belden) switches. I priced a matching Hirschmann switch (6-port Ethernet and 2 SFP ports), and it came out to $286. I think that's a pretty decent price for a fairly industrial switch. They seem dead simple to work with too.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 10:43 AM   #12
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,936
I would say Ntron or Hirschamann as well. However, if you have a place that like use all AB stuff including HMI then Stratix is nice because they make premade face-plate for that.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 11:53 AM   #13
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,414
I use almost exclusively N-Tron 700 series switches. I stick with them despite the higher purchase price because they just work. Built like tanks.

My colleagues sometimes select less expensive or smaller-footprint switches. I usually chide them gently.

Today I looked in the shop and found a very large and very complex system using B&R motion and safety controllers on Ethernet, and was alarmed to find a fabricated shelf in the enclosure on which sat an office-grade TrendNet switch.

The designer actually told me "that's what [the distributor] uses in their demos and they never have any problems".

<cracks knuckles>
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 12:01 PM   #14
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,489
I have recently converted my home installation to Ubiquity and I love it.

Only thing I do not like so far is the small form-factor. The switches run pretty hot.


We have used WESTERMO in the past for industrial networks. Just dumb switches, but they worked very well. Might be worth a look.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 09:25 PM   #15
Lyndon A
Member
United States

Lyndon A is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 17
I've been running a Ubiquiti Edge Router at home for about a year now without any issues. For reference, I had to reboot the previous router every few weeks.

However, anything other than the basic configuration isn't for the faint of heart. It's a pretty complex device once you deviate from anything the wizards will help you to do.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I Connect DH485 Industrial Network to Local Area Network wiwie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 7th, 2011 11:46 PM
s7 200 gaannesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 21st, 2008 12:33 AM
Business industrial network Maintenance Man LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 11th, 2007 02:22 PM
Industrial Networking Book shady_yehia LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 14th, 2004 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


.