You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 15th, 2018, 07:08 AM   #1
IdealDan
Member
Malaysia

IdealDan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 340
Micro wave radio recommendations needed for remote dcs to scada system data comms

Hi Guys,


What Radio Device will be appropriate to send a DCS Data to SCADA System of two separate remote control rooms?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 07:38 AM   #2
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,260
what distance?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 07:49 AM   #3
IdealDan
Member
Malaysia

IdealDan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by diat150 View Post
what distance?
Remote offshore site to onshore Control rooms
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 07:58 AM   #4
cyoung120
Member
United States

cyoung120 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: OH
Posts: 27
Ubiquity Air Fibers
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 08:35 AM   #5
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdealDan View Post
Remote offshore site to onshore Control rooms

where at? in the gulf of mexico? if so, companies like rignet or tampnet may already have microwave backhauls that you can jump on.



You have given basically no info, so its hard to give a solution if we dont know the problem. I think setting up a microwave shot offshore for someone who cant formulate more than a very short sentence on what they are trying to accomplish will be a very tough feat. I believe your best bet is a vsat system. Get a VPN setup between your controlroom and the VSAT provider and keep it all on a private network.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 09:54 AM   #6
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdealDan View Post
Remote offshore site to onshore Control rooms
Is that new SI unit of measurement ?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 10:14 AM   #7
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,893
Doesn't you guys know to use remote viewing?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2018, 11:15 AM   #8
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2018, 11:39 PM   #9
IdealDan
Member
Malaysia

IdealDan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by diat150 View Post
where at? in the gulf of mexico? if so, companies like rignet or tampnet may already have microwave backhauls that you can jump on.



You have given basically no info, so its hard to give a solution if we dont know the problem. I think setting up a microwave shot offshore for someone who cant formulate more than a very short sentence on what they are trying to accomplish will be a very tough feat. I believe your best bet is a vsat system. Get a VPN setup between your controlroom and the VSAT provider and keep it all on a private network.
Sorry guys, What I'm trying to accomplish is Visualization of a DCS data from a remote site to two different control rooms.


But new information I got shows that client has an existing micro wave system that I could latch on.


For the configuratoion, I thinking of configuring TCP/IP at the sending site and SCADA with OPC at the receiving end. is this going to work OR is there a better way please?


Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2018, 12:57 AM   #10
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 942
OPC is an application level protocol. TCP/IP is a transport / internet level protocol. They are not things that talk directly to each other. An OPC server for a particular model of DCS might use TCP/IP yes, but they don't "talk" to each other.

If they have an existing network then I'd speak to whoever manages that and see if you can set up a separate VLAN for the control system.

For future reference, specifying a microwave system is reasonably involved especially for an application over water. You need to assess pathloss, rainfade, fresnel zone obstructions etc. Its not something you just have a crack at without some training and experience. Engage a specialist.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2018, 03:23 AM   #11
IdealDan
Member
Malaysia

IdealDan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
OPC is an application level protocol. TCP/IP is a transport / internet level protocol. They are not things that talk directly to each other. An OPC server for a particular model of DCS might use TCP/IP yes, but they don't "talk" to each other.

If they have an existing network then I'd speak to whoever manages that and see if you can set up a separate VLAN for the control system.

For future reference, specifying a microwave system is reasonably involved especially for an application over water. You need to assess pathloss, rainfade, fresnel zone obstructions etc. Its not something you just have a crack at without some training and experience. Engage a specialist.
Thanks for your input, I do appreciate.
Radio configurations will be done by a Telecomms specialist.



On the side of SCADA, aside OPC configuration at the two control rooms.
do I need another OPC or Modbus(or something)configuration at the DCS side to acquire data?


Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2018, 05:51 PM   #12
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 942
Well that really depends on the DCS system. If it speaks a custom protocol then you'd buy the OPC server software from them.

If it speaks modbus or if your SCADA package has a driver then you don't need it.

Of course if you provided some details on what DCS and what SCADA package someone might be able to help
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2018, 06:54 PM   #13
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,893
Microwave is typically used for long distance. How long are you talking about? Both latency and throughput aren't the best with microwave so unless you have to go that route, consider wifi instead.

You are jumping way ahead, figure out your physical layer first. For long distance SCADA type comm, typically people use modbus or DNP. DNP is especially band-width efficient. For OPC, I would consider using a OPC UA tunneller for avoid the whole DCOM Hell.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2018, 11:48 PM   #14
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 942
I'm not sure what type of microwave links you're thinking of Harryting? Do you mean satellite links? Microwave is exceptionally fast... You can do 1Gb/s links and up with sub 1ms latency. A lot of cellular service providers link their towers with microwave where fiber isn't an option.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2018, 11:05 AM   #15
IdealDan
Member
Malaysia

IdealDan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryting View Post
Microwave is typically used for long distance. How long are you talking about? Both latency and throughput aren't the best with microwave so unless you have to go that route, consider wifi instead.

You are jumping way ahead, figure out your physical layer first. For long distance SCADA type comm, typically people use modbus or DNP. DNP is especially band-width efficient. For OPC, I would consider using a OPC UA tunneller for avoid the whole DCOM Hell.
Thanks Bro, Distance is really far as it is far offshore platform, Micro wave comes in here.
Will I need to deploy another protocol at the DCS side (Field) or is it just the micro wave configurations?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Scada system - WW of iFix? tisbris LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 November 20th, 2012 12:20 AM
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 07:24 AM
Delay Timer AGENTTINFOIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2006 08:25 PM
Best way to upgrade a SCADA system Johnny T LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 3rd, 2005 04:38 AM
Dcs, Scada hasnoclue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 April 11th, 2005 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


.