You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 30th, 2020, 12:15 PM   #1
Rob.Hill
Member
United Kingdom

Rob.Hill is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 37
RSLogix 5000 STL Timers

I haven't used used timers and STL together, so thought I'd try them on my next project!


I have the following code example:


Quote:
//#Region Alarm_Ack

SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].EN :=
HMI_CMDS_SS_Dint.18 or
(SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].EN and
not SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].DN);

//#End_Region
So basically I was hoping when someone presses the HMI cmd `HMI_CMDS_SS_Dint.18` (which is only active for 1 scan),

then
`SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].EN` would become `1` (which it does) and hence latch `SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].EN`
Until:
SBR_Alarms_TIMERS[25].DN becomes active 3 seconds later (3000 set to `.PRE` elsewhere).


Problem is:
.EN becomes a 1 as expected
.DN never does...?


Any help?


Thanks
Rob
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 12:38 PM   #2
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,902
Try .TT instead of .EN and NOT .DN
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 03:49 PM   #3
Jobbe9000
Member
Denmark

Jobbe9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Esbjerg
Posts: 34
Do you call The timer anywhere ?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 05:02 PM   #4
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.Hill View Post
Problem is:
.EN becomes a 1 as expected
.DN never does...?



Are you sure? Or could .DN become 1 for 1 scan but you never see it. Try adding this



Code:
IF TIMERS[25].DN THEN
  SomeFloat := SomeFloat + 1;
END_IF;

or feed the .DN into a counter, and see if either that float, or the counter, is incremented.


I think that replacing (.EN AND NOT .DN) with .TT will not change anything, because that is what .TT is.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 05:08 PM   #5
L D[AR2,P#0.0]
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

L D[AR2,P#0.0] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobbe9000 View Post
Do you call The timer anywhere ?

This.
__________________
S7-300 to 1500 conversions done - email to s7conversions@hotmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2020, 01:08 AM   #6
Rob.Hill
Member
United Kingdom

Rob.Hill is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 37
Thanks for the responses.


I will get chance to get back online this afternoon for some testing.


I think the issue is: 'Do you call the timer anywhere'


- unfortunately no! I mistakenly believed only TONR timers needed to be called and that calling the '.EN' bit would suffice. Obviously this isnt the case.


Is it possible to work with only TON timers in ST or does it have to be TONR?


I'll get chance to google later after travelling, but if anyone feels like making it easy for me - how to call TON (if poss)/ TONR


Thanks for the support


Rob
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix 5000/Studio 5000 Installation - Windows Server 2019 ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 August 6th, 2019 09:43 PM
RSLOGIX Emulate 5000 Standalone? OffByOneEra LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 5th, 2018 01:43 PM
RSlogix 5000 timers for start/stopping a agitator sequence remullis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 20th, 2016 09:31 PM
RSLogix 5000 Read Only Access? chrisj91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 19th, 2014 12:23 PM
RSLogix 5000 - Reusing timers clementcbc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 September 25th, 2010 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


.