You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 3rd, 2015, 11:14 AM   #1
steveb55
Member
United States

steveb55 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
Need a FT View Studio SE expert!

...or just someone who knows a lot more than I do.

Greetings...

I have a project in SE that is distributed network . There is a button on most screens that allows the user to open a dialog to edit current conveyor tracking information. The customer has requested that the button be protected by login security... no problem, right? Well, the problem is, if this dialog is opened (with proper login) on the SE server terminal, the same dialog also opens up on the SE client terminal (and vice-versa), which allows anyone at that terminal the ability to also edit the tracking info regardless of proper credentials.

So, how do I secure this type of configuration so that the credentialed user who opens the dialog (on either server or client) has exclusive editing abilities?

I apologize if this is an easy fix, but my vast experience is with ME PV+, so my knowledge of the inner workings of SE is a bit limited.

Kindest Regards...
Steve
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2015, 05:00 PM   #2
rkukl
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rkukl is offline
 
rkukl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA MA
Posts: 174
Steve
I have FtView Distributed app running with about 10 clients.
**We set up security in View Studio and select access level i.e. a,b,c,d...
**On main Access page (my initial start up page) have Login button with Action "login"
**Log out button with Action "login Operator Operator" this logs in operator who has limited access level.
**In client setup (Windows) we default login to Operator. thus lowest level of access
** then operator or supervisor must login with their credentials on the PC this would for instance give them access level E "engineering"
** animate button in question Expression is: currentuserhascode (E) you can change letter to your desired access level.


the key is each Client PC has to have its own security login button. ours are based on window access credentials. But I don't think it's necessary

Hope this helps and I explained clearly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Access2.JPG (64.1 KB, 57 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2015, 11:50 AM   #3
steveb55
Member
United States

steveb55 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
rkukl...

Thanks for the response. Sorry for the delay, out of town.

Each client has it's own login... in fact, it is a global object that we insert into every screen. Our issue is that when a high level user logs into one client, all other clients are now elevated to that same level.

Kind Regards,
Steve
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Testing an Application using FT View Studio V6.10 kandymann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 24th, 2017 02:37 PM
FT View Studio unable to upgrade firmware Stephen D LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 18th, 2013 11:11 AM
FT View SE Help Tim Ganz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 8th, 2011 07:03 PM
Ft View SE Studio and KepServerEx V5 -Tags not showing in Browser b.IT LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 13th, 2010 08:33 PM
Scanner and FT View SE SMOKE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 9th, 2009 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


.