You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 11th, 2015, 07:53 AM   #1
Jasondelane
Member
United States

Jasondelane is offline
 
Jasondelane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 129
1336-WB035 Braking Chopper on a Powerflex 700 VC

I'm installed a Powerflex 700 in place of a 1336F drive, but I'm still using the 1336F braking chopper with a same brake resistors. On the Powerflex 700, theres a parameter for choosing an external resistor. Would this be selected only if I'm using the Powerflex as it's own chopper and wiring the resistor to BR1/BR2? Since I have the 1336 Chopper wired into DC+/- on the Powerflex should I have the DC Bus Reg Mode A/B set to Dynamic Brak with external resistor type?
__________________
--- PLCFNG
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2015, 11:21 AM   #2
Jasondelane
Member
United States

Jasondelane is offline
 
Jasondelane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 129
Any idea on proper set up for this configuration?
__________________
--- PLCFNG
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2015, 04:00 AM   #3
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,490
You are doing something out of the ordinary here, so unless someone here has done the same thing, it's not likely you will get what you need. Try calling the Drives Tech Supprt line, there is someone there who will know or find this answer.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2015, 10:30 AM   #4
TWS
Member
United States

TWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: virginia
Posts: 191
Just had an AB drives guy quote a retrofit. 1336F to PF755.
I was told the brake resistors needed to be changed as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2015, 11:05 AM   #5
Jasondelane
Member
United States

Jasondelane is offline
 
Jasondelane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 129
For the first drive we've installed I've left the same brake resistor installed. I set Par. 161 to 0 - None, Par. 163 to 1 - External, and Par. 155 to 1- Ramp. This was based on KB 508407 and 453806 and a chat with RA Tech Support.

I've got a guy coming out tomorrow to quote enclosures for the 7 drives we're retrofitting and he's bring a drive guy with him. I'll ask him about the resistors to make sure everything is good. As long as I can keep the 1336 chopper and just swap out the big resistor I think it should be ok.
__________________
--- PLCFNG
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrating from 1336 to Powerflex 700 on PLC5 system Jasondelane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 8th, 2015 03:45 PM
Powerflex 700 Need Help Sean Wing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 4th, 2011 10:24 PM
Powerflex 40 and Dynamic Braking Resistors Tharon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 11th, 2011 07:04 AM
PowerFlex 700 VC Stop Mode rleon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 23rd, 2009 06:38 PM
Using AB Powerflex 700 with MODBUS?? RPax LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 6th, 2007 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


.