PLC Vs PC Control

chavak

Any body have experience with PC based controls, It was aksed by my boss to look into the feasibility of PC based system and come up with a comparison of both PLC and PC control in terms of Cost, maintenance, development time, data acquisation and storage and of course end user training + learning curve, etc.

What is the general comment about it. Any links where I can find more info turorials etc. I am totally new to PC based automation.

Thank You 🔨

My experience with PC based control is - alot of potential, little of it realized.

Sure, it's got lots of memory, data collection and processing, ethernet -- all the goodies. But it doesn't mean much if your computer won't run your process. The essential problem is Winblows, which likes to crash. Alot.

Like the old joke says, if Gates had built cars instead of computers:

1. Your Chevy would throw itself in a ditch twice a day for no apparent reason.

2. If you changed the stereo, the engine wouldn't turn over anymore.

3. Every other year, you would have to replace the engine and drive train - to accomodate the changes in Microsoft-brand motor oil.

TM

DONT DO IT!!!

PC based systems are definately NOT the way to go. Yes you get some advantages but as was said previously, Windows crashes a lot and PCs whether industrial or not, are never very user friendly on a machine no matter how good the user interface looks.
You also need to be a bit of a wiz with high level languages like C (or VB if you want to use a beginners language!) Anyway, stick with PLCs - they are a recognised standard, faults can be traced with a laptop by most people and you can make quick changes if required.

Re: DONT DO IT!!!

Steve Wood said:

You also need to be a bit of a wiz with high level languages like C (or VB if you want to use a beginners language