You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 29th, 2020, 10:16 AM   #16
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,694
Quote:
I find that telling them the competition is better, cheaper and the reason how I came about those two facts, is a lot better incentive... but I suppose there's a cultural element to it.
I tell my wife that my girlfriend is younger, better looking, and laughs at my jokes. Somehow she doesn't take it as incentive to improve.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2020, 10:23 AM   #17
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 2,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
I tell my wife that my girlfriend is younger, better looking, and laughs at my jokes. Somehow she doesn't take it as incentive to improve.
I guess it depends on the pre-nup... :P
  Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2020, 01:41 PM   #18
AustralIan
Member
Germany

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Code:
My_AOI(instance1,
    Param_1_BlahBlahBlah
   
 Param_2_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_3_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_4_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_5_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_6_BlahBlahBlah);
You need a comma between every parameter, not just the more important ones.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2020, 05:55 PM   #19
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustralIan View Post
You need a comma between every parameter, not just the more important ones.
Well, that was just a typo in my example.



I guess the more important question is do you think not having a comma their is a perfectly valid reason for Studio 5000 to crash to desktop? Especially while you are typing the call?
__________________
SkyCad Electrical is by far the best Electrical CAD software I have ever used.


Fact my "Fun Facts" are never fun
  Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2020, 06:16 PM   #20
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
In theory how does one report bugs to Rockwell?


Yeah fat chance getting them to fix them, but I figured I would try anyways. Studio 5000 is repeatably crashing when I am editing Structured Text AOI Calls.


I know, I know, Rockwell is great, it doesn't have bugs. Kindly hold your tongues Rockwell Fan Boys no ones cares.
If you want to post a ... portion? .. of your code that still crashes your Studio, perhaps someone can check it on their system and see if it is 'fixed' in the next rev.

I should be able to try it out by next week. My license server needs an upgrade before 32.04 will run ... but our IT guy should have that done this week
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2020, 02:22 AM   #21
AustralIan
Member
Germany

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,342
Just yanking your chain. You did say "It is perfectly valid ST.." after all. Really, programs crashing to desktop is a nightmare, I hope you find a solution.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2022, 10:32 AM   #22
UltimateAvocado
Member
Czech_Republic

UltimateAvocado is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Brno
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
32.02.00 Pro

It doesn't like how I format my AOI Calls. It is perfectly valid ST but the active linter that runs and checks your code while you type doesn't like it. I think that is what causes crashes some times when editing the call parameters.

Code:
    
My_AOI(instance1,
    Param_1_BlahBlahBlah
    Param_2_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_3_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_4_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_5_BlahBlahBlahBlahBlahBlah,
    Param_6_BlahBlahBlah);
Thanks



I know, but here I can say what I really think. If they care enough I'm sure they can figure out who I really am. I'll be nice to their face.
I have the same problem (V33.01.00) - At least I am not alone
Did anyone find solution for this nonsense?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2022, 03:51 PM   #23
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateAvocado View Post
I have the same problem (V33.01.00) - At least I am not alone
Did anyone find solution for this nonsense?

Thanks
Yes, listen closely this will blow you mind but the trick is to... not use Rockwell.



Yeah I am force to use it on 2 of our products, but the rest I am redeveloping in Codesys, using Wago PLCs, but since it is codesys I cam always migrate them to something else very easily. Codesys isn't perfect, but I will take it any day of the week over Rockwell.
__________________
SkyCad Electrical is by far the best Electrical CAD software I have ever used.


Fact my "Fun Facts" are never fun
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2022, 04:14 PM   #24
UltimateAvocado
Member
Czech_Republic

UltimateAvocado is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Brno
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
Yes, listen closely this will blow you mind but the trick is to... not use Rockwell.



Yeah I am force to use it on 2 of our products, but the rest I am redeveloping in Codesys, using Wago PLCs, but since it is codesys I cam always migrate them to something else very easily. Codesys isn't perfect, but I will take it any day of the week over Rockwell.
I wish
It is the same for me. I am using mostly Siemens and Codesys and as you said, they are not perfect but next to Rockwell it is like night and day. Writing code is noticeably slower even without dealing with stupid crashes.

I read that it has something to do with .net but I have tried it on multiple PCs with different version of .net, either on W7 or on W10 and it was crashing on all of them.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2022, 04:24 PM   #25
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateAvocado View Post
I wish
It is the same for me. I am using mostly Siemens and Codesys and as you said, they are not perfect but next to Rockwell it is like night and day. Writing code is noticeably slower even without dealing with stupid crashes.

I read that it has something to do with .net but I have tried it on multiple PCs with different version of .net, either on W7 or on W10 and it was crashing on all of them.
Yeah I feel ya dude.


I eventually just gave up on a solution, whenever I am messing with AOI calls in ST I just save, save, Save, and save some more. most of the time it is fine. only about 1 of 10 times it crashes. I don't have a lot of AOI calls in ST with a ton of parameters so I mostly can do it on one line too.
__________________
SkyCad Electrical is by far the best Electrical CAD software I have ever used.


Fact my "Fun Facts" are never fun
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2022, 11:20 PM   #26
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,135
In my dealings with Rockwell, even twice this week, I think following these steps is the best way to get results:


1. Write down the specific problem on paper giving every detail of every software, license, hardware, firmware, etc.


2 Drive to the coast of California.


3. Put the note in a bottle and throw it as far offshore as you can. The magic bottle fairies will get it to the correct person, or department a lot faster than you will get in touch with them yourself using phones, chat and email.
__________________
ivanovaautomation.com


Some Jobs Are Best Started With A Sawzall And A Dumpster On Castors
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2022, 10:16 AM   #27
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Automation View Post
In my dealings with Rockwell, even twice this week, I think following these steps is the best way to get results:


1. Write down the specific problem on paper giving every detail of every software, license, hardware, firmware, etc.


2 Drive to the coast of California.


3. Put the note in a bottle and throw it as far offshore as you can. The magic bottle fairies will get it to the correct person, or department a lot faster than you will get in touch with them yourself using phones, chat and email.
Based
__________________
SkyCad Electrical is by far the best Electrical CAD software I have ever used.


Fact my "Fun Facts" are never fun
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report Builder 3.0 with SQL Express/FTView SE Roksan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 16th, 2018 05:52 AM
FYI - Rockwell Software padees LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 27th, 2017 12:55 PM
STEP 7 and RSLogix5000 DamianInRochester LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 69 September 17th, 2016 02:14 AM
Thank you, Rockwell... L5K_Edit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 January 12th, 2016 08:24 AM
WinCC - Report Designer - SQL problem Lesa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 4th, 2011 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 PM.


.