You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 14th, 2002, 10:13 PM   #1
Steve_D
Member
Australia

Steve_D is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 92
AB Encoder Code

I am programming an AB HSCE2 encoder module in an SLC5/03. I have the manual (all 300 pages of it) but its a hard read ("sort of like lord of the rings"). Anyway, I would ask for an explanation but the manual indicates that that would be a long drawn out process so I was hoping that someone could perhaps send me some code of one that they had set up (I am using RSlogix 500) so I can see for myself how the programming blocks and data words etc tie together. I am not trying to take the easy way out but sometimes things are a lot clearer when you get to the end of the road and look back.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2002, 06:44 AM   #2
john paley
Member
United States

john paley is offline
 
john paley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 304
I forget, does that one use M files, or O: words for it's configuration? Either way, the values you put in the M0 or 0:xx file cause the counter to act the way it ultimately does. There are many options, so many, it makes the wrinkles in my brain go smooth, sometimes. Some values you read from the M1: file, some from the I:xx file. The first step is to decide what you want it to do, then search the configuration part of the book to figure out how. I couuld help more if you were more specific. I've used the HSCE, not the HSCE2, but I've got a manual for it, somewhere. If I sent you sample configuration code, it would simply be a file copy rung to configure the module. The value of the words in the copy from file is the key to how it operates.
__________________
The Big Cheese
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2002, 08:21 AM   #3
JeffB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JeffB is offline
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 78
Hi!

I've used incremental encoders wired to HSCE2 modules for positioning purposes. I can send you the set up file for that type of application.
Keep in mind, that it won't help you if your wanting to use the ouputs on card to energize at certain counts.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2002, 11:26 AM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,698
There are about 30 Knowledgebase documents on "support.rockwellautomation.com" regarding the HSCE2, so clearly you're in good company.

One of them is even called "HSCE2 - As Simple as It Can Get ?", which contains minimum configurations to get counting to begin.

I have a pair of thick "quick-start" documents explaining the HSCE2 buried somewhere from factory training two years ago... I'll dig them out and see if I have electronic copies.

What's the basic configuration you want to set up ?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2002, 09:52 AM   #5
Steve_D
Member
Australia

Steve_D is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 92
Guys, thanks to your input I have my encoder up and running.... I am now the resident guru. Thanks again and I hope I can return the favour
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gray code encoder on SLC 5/05 Joe Smalling LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 5th, 2006 12:38 PM
Simulator, Simulation, Shadow Code Terry Woods LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 2nd, 2005 02:40 PM
Absolute encoder on AB SLC5/04 chavak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 13th, 2004 12:36 AM
Help! Line Code Encoder Problem pschffr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 28th, 2003 05:34 PM
AB Panelview 300 - Error Code 31 Jeff Bailey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 28th, 2003 03:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.


.