You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread November 8th, 2019, 06:50 AM   #1
Danster11
Member
United States

Danster11 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: NY
Posts: 2
1756-IF8I Card Power Loss

We had a problem that I have never seen before. 1756-IF8I card with channels 1-4 powering field devices. This card has been working for several years without issue. The maintenance guys noticed that the devices being powered by the card were blank / had no power. They opened the PLC cabinet and the IF8I module in slot 4 which had no lights on it at all. HOWEVER (this is the weird part), somehow at least 1 channel, channel 4 maintained a milliamp value of 13.76mA (4-20MA signal) for the 12 hours that the card was in this state. The channel data is trended by an external software application and the trend flat lined at 86% (13.6mA) the entire time the card was in this state. The technicians cycled power on the PLC enclosure and the card returned to normal operation as did the flow meter and other input devices. Unfortunately engineering was not able to observe or capture the PLC program in the faulted state. Has anyone seen this issue before? Summary: Analog input module appears to be "dead" in the rack but continues to act like a channel is receiving a 13.6mA signal. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 8th, 2019, 08:19 AM   #2
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 646
Yep, that's normal for all input cards, digital or analog. If the card fails, the last reading is what is stored. Same thing with Ethernet comms too.

Best practice IMO is to use a GSV instruction to monitor that the card or Enet device is connected and alive, and clear all values (or write whatever numbers are a safe fail-to), as well as trigger an alarm for operators.
  Reply With Quote
Unread November 9th, 2019, 12:59 AM   #3
Danster11
Member
United States

Danster11 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Thanks rupej!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about CompactLogix with a CF Card, Load on Power Up. Tharon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 23rd, 2016 03:48 PM
Cycle Count retention during power loss busarider29 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 20th, 2013 07:13 AM
Power loss messing up Profibus network orense LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 6th, 2012 03:38 AM
HSCE saving possition on power loss roxusa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 29th, 2011 09:39 AM
S7-300 Power Loss Problem captain_is LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 23rd, 2011 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


.