Industry 4.0 and the programmer of today...

userxyz

Hi all,

We all see Industry 4.0 as hot topic by many brands. It's like the sweet saus for these companies. This week I was at a Beckhoff dealer in Belgium talking about innovation and industry 4.0. Many can't explain what the core definition means... Me neither. But the thing IS, this guy said things that raised questions for me. He was talking about industry 4.0 that it's basically means connecting data where each machine can be connected to anything in the company. It's like subscription on topics to exchange data. He gave many other illustrations but one shocked me as I am a Plc and scada programmer myself. He said he programs in Simulink and that this is the future. Programming if then else syntax will be the past. Graphic programmation the future.. I didn't ask him what about stepprograms and drivers between devices. I am not an stl programmer anymore since TIA portal works brilliantly with Scl and graph in combination... But TIA is already something old fashion if I may believe this guy.

So the question is simple... Should I prepare for a job change ? :)
And can someone clear things up about the near future?
You know... A lot of process integrators still are in simatic because of their standards... Are they way behind then? In the Machinery and automobile things are changed into Tia portal.

Kind regards and thank you for comments in advance

Gerry