You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:17 AM   #1
TimD
Member
United States

TimD is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 203
MicroLogix: Copy I: and O: registers to INT

Hi,

this seems trivial, and probably answered several times already, but how do I copy either a single or group of bitwise I and O registers to INT?

I'm trying to group a bunch of sequential INTs so that another processor can read one block over a MSG instruction.

I'm trying MOV and COP but am getting unexpected results.

Any pointers? Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:26 AM   #2
Christoff84
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Canada

Christoff84 is offline
 
Christoff84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 380
Use a move or a copy, MOV I:1.0 N7:0.

It's probably the .0 part that got you.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:27 AM   #3
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,239
For help I think you should post EXACTLY what code you wrote and what results you expected and the actual results were.

Are you getting compile errors or just weird results?

Detail for each method you tried.

If it's not clear from your posts detail exactly which inputs and output locations you want to transfer and the intended destinations.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:28 AM   #4
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 594
MOV I:0.0 N7:0 <--should work fine for moving the whole word.

XIC I:0/0 OTE N7:0/0 <-- If you want to just move 1 bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:38 AM   #5
TimD
Member
United States

TimD is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 203
Hi All,

My code is: MOV I:0.0 N7:0

However, instead of getting a group of binary digits, I get a (159) which is a binary representation of the whole word. I want to see the bits one at a time over a range of 16 INTs for example.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:55 AM   #6
OZEE
Member
United States

OZEE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,695
Where you are looking at the Data File N7, click on Radix in the lower right corner. Change the radix from Decimal to Binary.
__________________
"I wonder how people did this before the days of PLCs?" If people would take the time to learn how a simple relay control circuit works..... [Helliana]
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 08:56 AM   #7
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 977
You could do it with BTD instruction. That would allow you to pick bits out of the word. It would take 16 of them.

Edit: FBC is WRONG instruction changed to BTD

Last edited by cwal61; May 2nd, 2014 at 09:02 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 09:00 AM   #8
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 977
Sorry wrong instruction use the BTD instructions.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2014, 09:26 AM   #9
TimD
Member
United States

TimD is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 203
Thanks Everyone!

I'm working with it now.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


.