You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2020, 12:34 PM   #1
lesmar96
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 408
pulse generator from analog output

Good Morning, Customer has given me a PAX2D Red Lion timer to read and display the speed of a motor.

The drive only has analog outputs, but the PAX2D is built for high speed pulses. I am just curious if there is a device out there that you could recommend that would take a 0-10V output and covert it into 0-50khz pulses. For example, at 5 volts it would put out 25khz and at 10 volts it would do 50khz. These numbers are for illustration and I don't those exact specs but that is to prove the concept.

If this is not practical, i do have some other options but this would be my first choice. I can buy a PAX2A, but the customer wants the PAX2D because that is what they use all over the plant.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
__________________
Whatever you are, be a good one.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2020, 01:05 PM   #2
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,907
See if this will do it. I didn’t read all the specs
Or they may have something else

https://www.motrona.com/en/products/...s232rs485.html
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2020, 01:09 PM   #3
lesmar96
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRW View Post
See if this will do it. I didnít read all the specs
Or they may have something else

https://www.motrona.com/en/products/...s232rs485.html
Yes, that would do the trick. It has a lot more features than what I need.

Do you know if they distribute over here? Have any experience with this brand?
__________________
Whatever you are, be a good one.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2020, 01:34 PM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,084
Here's another option if you don't really need 50 KHz. The range is only 0 - 10 volts to 0 - 5kHz.


https://calex.com/signal-conditioners/din-rail/
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2020, 02:53 PM   #5
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,907
Lesmar
In the past.. I used their resolver interface
I spoke to my local distributor and gave them the part number
they ordered it for me
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2020, 12:43 PM   #6
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,335
Phoenix should also suit, but 0-10V is 0-10kHz or much faster:
https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...ary=usen&tab=1
  Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2020, 12:14 PM   #7
lesmar96
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

lesmar96 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 408
Thanks for your suggestions. They are helpful.
__________________
Whatever you are, be a good one.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No output from analog voltage output module rguimond LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 15th, 2014 07:11 PM
Siemens S7-300 Analog Output Cyanogen281 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 26th, 2014 01:31 PM
Controlling Motor Freq. Via Analog Output (CompactLogix 1769 Series) kandymann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 February 4th, 2012 03:20 AM
Time Duration or Pulse Train input to analog output JPesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 10th, 2005 05:31 PM
Servo Positioning - AB - HSCE / NO4V Ramil LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 18th, 2003 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


.